Tags

, , , , ,

Today I am interviewing the lovely Parker Kincade.

Do you write to music? If so what was the sound track to One Night Stand?

I do write to music. In fact, I do most things to music – it’s something I love almost as much as writing. I don’t write to music that includes vocals (too distracting, I always end up singing) so I play brainwave or classical music. That being said, each novel I write has one particular song that inspired me or relates to the characters in some way. For Joe and Amanda, that song is The Silence Remains by 3 Doors Down.

What is the most you have written in one day?

I have a daily word count goal, but I still struggle to put down large numbers. Approx. 3,600 words in one day is the most I’ve ever done. Most days I hover right around 1,200 to 1,500 words.

What are you currently reading?

Crash Into You, by Roni Loren. I’m about half way through and a solid fan. Already bought book two!

What is your best guilty pleasure? (By best I mean worst.)

This is totally random, but I love pumpkin ice cream. Total foodgasm. Since it’s seasonal, it’s even more tempting! I start looking forward to it around June. 🙂

What book do you wish you’d written?

Oh man! I wish I’d written any of Gena Showalter’s Lords of the Underworld series. Taking the demons from Pandora’s box and shoving them into immortal warriors as punishment? Pure genius.

You have to jump out of a plane w/ a holey parachute or edit your 100K MS by hand, what. do. you. do? Grab a pencil, cause there’s no way I’m jumping out of a plane – even with a perfect parachute! Editing is tedious, but at least my butt will be intact (for the most part) at the end!

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I am lucky to be surrounded by wonderful people. The entity, outside of family members, that have supported me the most is what I’ll call my “posse”- my close circle of friends who have been there the whole way. Let me tell you, these are special people to put up with me! J I love them dearly.

Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely! I own a business, which is currently how I make my living. My business is what I do. Being a writer is who I am. I look forward to the day I can write full time! J

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have so many I like, but JR Ward is top of the list. In her Black Dagger Brotherhood series (as well as the Fallen Angel series), she’s created a world with such depth; it’s hard to imagine it doesn’t exist. She spares no details – not with setting, character or plot. She takes risks that, as a reader, have left me stunned, in tears and on the edge of my seat. It’s safe to say the “real” world melts away for me when I’m reading one of her books! 🙂

You have great taste. I love, love, love the BDB 🙂

Who designed the cover?

Valerie Tibbs designed the cover of One Night Stand. She is an amazing talent – and nailed my vision right out of the gate. I hope she does the others!

Do you have any advice for other writers?

I’ve said this before…and I’m sure I’ll say it again! Listen to those who know more than you. Don’t ever stop learning your craft. Then, write, write, write.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am grateful for each and every one of you! I am hard at work to bring you more from the Martins…as well as a few other surprises! Stay tuned!

Bonus Round:

Coffee/Tea? Coffee

Cake/Cookies? Cookies

Coke/Pepsi? Pepsi (diet)

Heels/Flats? Flats

BDB/The Order? BDB, of course!

Vampires/Werewolves? Werewolves

Cats/Dogs? Dogs

Fly/Drive? Drive

Thank you so much for having me!

Blurb

Amanda Martin has the worst taste in men. After being cheated on not once, but twice, she’s lost all faith in men…and in herself. Determined to regain her confidence, Amanda decides to have a one-night stand. No relationship, no promises, no threat of being hurt again…just sex. What she doesn’t anticipate is meeting a handsome-as-sin stranger who will give her pleasure unlike any she’s ever known.

Joe Sterling has spent his life avoiding relationships, his former job as a military sniper not allowing for such commitments. Now he’s come home to Texas, to let go of the past and to prove he is more than the killer he’s been trained to be. When Amanda’s life is threatened, Joe’s killer instinct is tested while Amanda struggles to protect her heart. Will they succumb to their overwhelming desire for each other, or lose it all by letting the past dictate their future?

Excerpt

“We don’t have to do this,” he said, even as he reached out to cup her neck.

She smiled, barely keeping the wonder from her voice as she brushed her fingertips across his jawline. “You really mean that, don’t you?”

“Yes,” he said without hesitation.

She glanced pointedly at the erection straining against his jeans.

He gave her a sly smile. “I never said I didn’t want to. But no means no, Amanda. About that, I make no concession. If you want to stop, it stops. Now.” He dropped his hands and stepped back from her.

She moved back into him. He was so warm. She savored the feel of his hard frame pressing against her. “What if I just want to make out for a while?” she teased, her gaze glued to his lips. “You have the most amazing mouth.” Did I just say that out loud? Sam would be so proud.

He made a throaty sound as he leaned in and brushed his lips over hers. His touch was light, playful, utterly intoxicating. He traced the line of her jaw with his lips. “Making out with you does have intense possibilities.” He lifted her chin, forcing her to look at him. “Is that what you want?”

“Is that enough for you?”

His lips quirked. “I don’t relish the thought of going home with a hard-on, but I meant what I said. You control what happens here tonight, Mandy. You understand?”

The dominance that bled from his voice made her stomach clench. She gave him a quick nod. “Right. No teasing.” Which suited her just fine. She was on fire and ready to give him whatever he wanted.

He laughed, a deep, masculine sound. “Oh no, Mandy,” he assured her, “there will

be teasing, and hopefully, a whole lot more.”

She hissed in a breath as he nipped her shoulder.

“You okay with that?”

She moved her hips, caressing him with her pelvis. Yes, yes, she was very much on board with that idea. And she was done talking.

Buy Links:
Liquid Silver Books: http://www.lsbooks.com/one-night-stand-p693.php
ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-onenightstand-918200-149.html
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Night-Stand-Martin-Family-ebook/dp/B0090P6FG4/
Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/one-night-stand-parker-kincade/1112692871?ean=9781595789648

Social Links are:
www.parkerkincade.com
www.facebook.com/parkerkincade
www.twitter.com/parkerkincade
www.parkerkincade.blogspot.com

 

