Tags

, , , , , ,

I did think to call this post the history of Fuck…but thought that might be going too far.

When things go tits up we all have a go to word. Johnny Depp in an interview on the Actor’s Studio said his favourite curse word is shit, or merde as my French work colleague mutters endlessly.

Strangely my mother doesn’t cuss, preferring the expression ‘fish hooks’ and I am not sure my older sister goes much further. As for me I’m a proud potty mouth.

Over the years I have heard many a rude word but my go to word is still fuck, although I am thinking of adopting the phrase fuckity, fuckity, fuck, fuck. The heroine of a book I am reading uses it when things are going badly and it amuses me.

If you were to go back and watch 80’s TV shows you would think no one cursed at all and that the word fuck was a modern invention. Policeman were hiding in schools arresting the scum of the teenage world and threatening to ‘kick tails’?  Huh?? I don’t remember that particular version of the 80’s being real life.

Where fuck began has been lost but it’s use can be traced back as far as 1475 in  a poem and even Shakespeare used the word in his writings. Whether it was always a profanity who knows?  However, as Wikipedia states.

The origin of the word is obscure. It is usually considered to be first attested to around 1475, but it may be considerably older. In modern usage, fuck and its derivatives (such as fucker and fucking) can be used in the position of a noun, a verb, an adjective or an adverb.

As a writer I have a lot of respect for a word that can be used to do so many jobs in so many different situations.

Now fuck off. I have a book to write!

