Today I am interviewing guest Kathryn R Blake.

Thank you for having me here, Lillian.  I love to “talk” to readers and like most authors; I enjoy answering questions about my books.

 

What genres do you write besides BDSM?

I also write paranormal and spanking romances.  All of my books feature heroes who spank, but “Arrested by Love” is the first book I wrote where spanking takes central stage.  “A Dom’s Dilemma” emerged from that story, and is my first BDSM romance.

What inspired your main characters?

Jim and Kelly were secondary characters in “Arrested by Love.”  When they started to take over what was meant to be Kyle and Tiffany’s story, I decided they needed their own book.

Where do you write?

I have a small office/bedroom in the home, and I usually write there due to fewer distractions.  I have a lap desk and a small rolling desk for my mini laptop, so I do most of my writing in bed.

What are you currently reading?

I’m currently between books on my Kindle, so I’m listening to Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files series on my IPAQ.  Somehow, I read two books out of order, so I just finished the earlier book, and will now go back and listen to the two books I’ve already heard, so I’m back in the proper sequence again.

What book do you wish you’d written?

Fifty Shades of Grey.  I enjoyed the characters and the story.  Though my concept of Christian is a lot different from the way E.L. James revealed him in her sample of beginning scenes written from his point of view.  Even though he was only 28, I granted him a great deal more maturity, a little more humor and a lot less cynicism.  I enjoyed some of the things about Ana that others criticized.  Yes, she was unbelievably naïve, but I was willing to accept it and go along for the ride.  I smiled at James’s obvious Briticisms, since I’m an anglophile, and laughed aloud at some of their e-mail exchanges.  Despite its flaws, I enjoyed the journey and look forward to the movie.

What inspired you to write your first book?

My first published book is a vampire story entitled “Mortal Illusions.”  When I wrote it, my mother was coping with cancer.  She never told me directly, but I must have sensed it, because that book began with the question, “How far would you go to save a loved one from dying?”

How did you come up with the title?

My heroine in “A Dom’s Dilemma” is a mass of contradictions.  Jim, my hero in that story, became a Dom many years before he met Kelly, worked as a police detective.  Almost from the beginning, Jim suspects Kelly is hiding something, and it bothers him.  One of her strongest fears is rejection, since she’s been abandoned by everyone she cared about.  Rather than admit her vulnerability, she masks her fears behind rude and bratty behavior, preferring to push rather than be shoved away.  A tendency that makes the Dom in Jim see red.  When he finally realizes she is a reluctant submissive, he needs to decide if his feelings for her are strong enough to overcome the problems she presents, or if he should let her go.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes.  People often react in ways that are opposite to their feelings, so you shouldn’t just listen and accept words spoken in anger if you desire a meaningful relationship with them.  You need to observe a person’s unspoken signals as well.  The intense intimacy in BDSM requires honesty, trust, and a constant vigilance for silent clues that provide an indication of the individual’s true state of mind.  As a detective and a Dom, reading people is something Jim is very good at, fortunately for Kelly.

Are the experiences in your book based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No.  My characters and their experiences are purely fictional and based more in fantasy than reality.  However, there are aspects of myself and other loved ones in each of them.

What are your current projects?

I have an unrelated spanking novel I’m still plotting, another vampire book I’m editing for submission to a few publishers who’ve requested it, and a historical romantic fantasy that’s been sitting on the back burner for awhile.

Do you see writing as a career?

Most definitely, although it is my third career.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I would love to.  This is the opening scene of the book, but if readers are looking for more, I offer an excerpt of the first three chapters on my website http://www.KathrynRBlake.com.

“Saw your sub come visitin’ at the station today, Kyle,” Jim Evans mentioned casually before taking a sip of ice water.  In addition to being another Dom at the Velvet Chains BDSM club, Kyle Sinclair was also a fellow police officer in the same precinct as Jim.  They weren’t friends exactly.  More like associates who had an occasional beer together.  “She in trouble?”

Seated at the bar, Kyle gave a dejected nod without looking up from what Jim believed to be a scotch on the rocks.  “Yeah, you could say that.”

It had been a while since Jim had seen Kyle’s little sub at the club.  He’d always considered her an attractive bundle of fun, and one he’d like to top, if Kyle would let him.  “You intendin’ to do a punishment scene with her tonight?”

Kyle sighed, sounding depressed.  “Looks that way.”

Shoving his hands into the rear pockets of his black slacks, Jim rocked back on his heels, preferring to stand at the bar, rather than sit.  “Mind if I watch?”

“Not at all,” Kyle answered, appearing … relieved.  “In fact….”

Jim stood up straighter.  “What?  You lookin’ to make a party of it?”

Kyle shook his head.  “I’m looking to find her another Dom.  Daniel tried to work with her and so did Greg, but I don’t think they were strict enough to meet her needs.”

Jim’s eyebrow rose.  “A bit of a hellion, eh?”

“She can be.  She can also be a sweet submissive if she’s mastered properly.  It’s just ….  I’ve met someone else….”

“Got it.  So, tell me a little about your sub, and when she gets here, I’ll put her through her paces to check how she responds to me.  If I’m pleased, I’ll most likely want to scene with her.  I should know within a half-hour whether or not I think we’ll click.”

“Thanks,” Kyle said, relief evident in his voice.  “I really appreciate this, Jim.”

 

 

Who designed the cover? My publisher under their ABCD Graphics name.

Do you have anything specific you want to say to your readers?

I love to hear from readers, so if they have any questions, suggestions or comments they wish to share with me, I encourage them to e-mail me at KRBlake@KathrynRBlake.com

Bonus Round:

Coffee/Tea? Tea

Cake/Cookies? Cake

Coke/Pepsi? Coke

Heels/Flats? Flats

BDB/The Order? BDB

Vampires/Werewolves? Vampires

Cats/Dogs? Dogs

Fly/Drive? Drive

Blurb:

Kinky happenings in rural New England.

James Evans has been a police detective for sixteen years and an active participant in the local BDSM scene for even longer.  So, at age 35, he knows what he likes, and for the last three years, he’s liked what he’s seen in Kelly Franklin.  Pretty, feisty and submissive, the fact that she scurries off like a frightened rabbit every time she sees him, only intrigues him more.  He would have pressed a lot harder to corner her, if she hadn’t already belonged to someone else.  So, when a fellow police officer, Kyle Sinclair, mentions he’s looking for a new Dom to top Kelly, Jim doesn’t hesitate to sign up for the job.

Taking his cues from Kelly, Jim quickly discovers she isn’t seeking pain and punishment the way Kyle thought.  In fact, all of Kelly’s signals indicate she is scared of pain, which both puzzles Jim and brings his protective side to the fore.  Why would a girl want to be a submissive at a BDSM club if she fears how a Dom might punish her?

As a Dom, Jim is pleased by Kelly’s open responsiveness, but as a police detective, he is determined to solve the enigma she presents.  Their relationship grows even more complicated when he discovers Kelly has not only been keeping secrets from him, she has lied, and neither side of him tolerates any type of deception–ever.  A point he is more than willing to make with Kelly draped butt-naked over his knee for a spanking until she finally tells him the truth.

