Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Guest SigAll Kinks Are Not Created Equal

That title is a lie.

Complete and utter bull in fact. Just because something is not a turn-on for you, does not make it bad. It’s a total turn-on for someone else.

And then there’s that gray area in between where the idea is a turn-on, but you wouldn’t necessarily want to get anywhere near the reality. There are a number of things that fall into this spectrum for me. However, as the color gray has been rather used to death lately, let’s go with a holiday hue and call it “a thousand shades of red.”

Like turn-ons and turn-offs, my list won’t be the same as yours (and that’s totally okay). But for anyone in a kinky lifestyle or relationship, one should have a simple way to let their significant other know exactly to what degree a no-we’re-not-doing-that is really a hell-no-get-away-from-me-you-weirdo. (Because I really don’t recommend saying that. First it’s horribly judgmental. Second, it’s just rude. I mean, really…)

Also, I know red is used for “no” in some circles and yellow is slow-down/maybe, but there aren’t that many great hues of yellow. Plus it isn’t a holiday color and golden showers are on my total turn-off list, so… yeah. Red it is.

So if a deep burgundy is a “I like to daydream about it but there is no way anyone will ever convince me to try and I might run for the hills if they attempted it” and a nice pale pink is “OMG, I read about this and it kind of turned me own, but I don’t know how to bring it up…” there’s a wide range to play with in there.

(And please, if you’re related to me, stop reading now. You don’t want to know this stuff.)

For example, things that fall into my “red-spectrum” include (or included at some point):

  • Breath play: for a long time, this was a blood-red, but it’s not such a scary thing for me anymore as long as a trusted partner is involved (aka my hubs). Now it’s more of a hot pink.
  • Caning: Scares the crap out of me, but every time I read about it, I get all shivery. Let’s call it ruby or crimson.
  • Knife/Blood Play: Some people differentiate these because of how they are done. (Since my “experience” is in the fictional vein and involves knife play that draws blood…). As much as I love it in fiction, this is still a definite carnelian/carmine/sangria for me.

But even within those few examples, you can see that tastes change and evolve within kink. So what once was “not my kink” might be in the future. It’s one of the reasons it’s important to remember that even if all kinks aren’t created equally for you, it doesn’t mean some are less than others in general.

That’s one of the things I love about the Vanilla-Free Christmas anthology. There are different flavors of kink for different types of readers. And who knows, you might find something there that moves from a “Hell, no. Never” to one of those shades of red that’s a little closer to pink than you thought. Even if you don’t, happy reading, and I wish you a very sexy holiday season!

~~*~~

VFC1MVanilla-Free Christmas This Christmas, the best gifts are waiting for those who have been naughty…

And the toys under the tree are not for children. Sexy Santas, naughty elves, and dominant shifters are ready to spread some very kinky Christmas cheer. It’s a good thing the ladies in our stories are looking for anything but vanilla.

Be Warned: ménage sex, anal sex, sex toys, BDSM, spanking

 

 

~ 9 Author Kink Anthology~
Santa’s Beard by Doris O’Connor
The Olympian by Sandra Bunino
Three in a Tub by Giselle Renarde
A Few of My Favorite Things by Seleste deLaney
The Man Inside by Lila Shaw
Who’s Been Naughty and Nice? by Vanessa Devereaux
Secrets Santa by Raven McAllan
Faith’s Gift by R. Brennan
A Very Furry Christmas by Jorja Lovett

~~*~~

From a young age, Seleste’s mom tried to steer her away from stories about witchcraft and monsters and spaceships. Fortunately, she tried to point her toward true crime—which is much scarier. Seleste found solace in the arms of vampires, werewolves, and demons. In no time at all, those true crime stories found their way into her own writing too and she embraced the mayhem. She’s published a short or two with no death, but as a trade-off considers steamy sex a requirement.

Now she writes urban fantasy, steampunk, paranormal romance, and even contemporary romance. Using the scheming powers she learned from her villains—and heroes—she convinced Carina Press, Decadent Publishing, Entangled Publishing (coming SOON!), Evernight Publishing, and Mundania Press to publish her devilish tales.

You can find her online at her website, blog, Facebook profile, Facebook page, Twitter and Pinterest.

