Tags

, , , , ,

Guest Sig

Sabrina Sol is the chica who loves love. She writes spicy romance stories featuring strong Latina heroines in search of love, success and happiness. She lives in Southern California with her husband, three kids and two Beagles. And she’s part of a large, extended Mexican family which may—or may not—be the source of inspiration for some of her characters.

Blog | Website | Twitter |Facebook

How long have you been writing?
Well, the simple answer is, as long as I can remember. The complex answer is, as a former newspaper reporter and current public relations director, I’ve been writing professionally for about 17 years. And two years ago, I started writing short stories and novels specifically for publication.

What genres do you write besides erotic romance?
I’m currently working on a novel that can be categorized as Chick Lit or Women’s Fiction.

What inspired your main characters?
The heroine is based on a combination of personalities — that of my own and other people I’ve known. The hero is based on a few men I’d like to have known! 😉

 

Do you write to music? If so what was the sound track to REUNITED?
I always write to music. It doesn’t just get the creative juices flowing, but it helps me tune out the chaos of my household when needed. For REUNITED, I created a playlist on my iPod of about 30 different songs, but the majority of them came from Adele’s “21” album.

What are you currently reading?
I’m about to start The Angel by Tiffany Reisz. I am looking forward to and dreading it all at the same time. If you read The Siren, you know exactly what I mean.
What is your best guilty pleasure? (By best I mean worst.)
Cheese. It makes me happy. Period.

What inspired you to write your first book?
The surreal voice in my head and the very real voice of author Louisa Bacio (see below…)

 Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
The main message is that it’s never too late to make a dream come true. I’m living proof of that!

 Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
The experiences are purely fiction, but the premise is rooted in the plot of the John Hughes’ classic 16 Candles.

 Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
Hands down, it has to be author Louisa Bacio. I knew her back in college and kept up with her publishing career on Facebook. One day I sent her a message basically asking, “Okay, how do I make this happen for me?” Since then she’s been a wealth of knowledge and inspiration. She was even the one who urged me to submit a story specifically for Decadent Publishing’s 1Night Stand series.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
I’d say it’s probably the common struggle to show, not tell. I’m used to telling stories. I did it as a reporter and I do it now as a PR director. But it took me some time to realize that writing fiction is a totally different animal. The first pass with my editor on REUNITED was humbling to say the least. She made me see my weaknesses, but also helped me strengthen them.

Do you have any advice for other writers?
Share your writing early and often! This is the best way to get your name out there and build a support network of both fellow authors and fans. I think new writers are afraid to show what they’re working because they don’t want to risk rejection or criticism. I get that. I was the same way for many, many years. But then I realized that I couldn’t really call myself a writer until other people read what I was writing. So I took a deep breath, crossed my fingers and started posting original stories on my blog. They were raw and not professionally edited. But they were mine. And that gave me the push I needed to work on getting published. I just wish that I would have done it years ago!

Bonus Round:
Coffee/Tea? Coffee
Cake/Cookies? Cake
Coke/Pepsi? Coke
Heels/Flats? Flats (I’m a mom, I need to be able to run after someone at a moment’s notice)
BDB/The Order? Sorry, but I have no idea!
Vampires/Werewolves? Vampires
Cats/Dogs? Used to be cats, but now it’s definitely dogs
Fly/Drive? Drive (I will only fly if I’m heavily medicated or inebriated or both)
 

 
Reunited300x450REUNITED by Sabrina Sol

What would you do if you had the chance to sleep with your unrequited high school crush?

If you’re former geek Magdelena Cruz, you’d do him in a heartbeat. But you’d lie about your true identity first and hope your new sexy persona is enough to create a night neither of you will forget.

Workaholic assistant DA Will Hudson doesn’t have time for a love life. Expecting to scratch an itch with a willing stranger, he signs up for Madame Evangeline’s 1Night Stand experience. He has no idea that his date is no stranger.

A reunion between two classmates will be hotter than the scorching Las Vegas sun. But will the heat be enough to spark something deeper, or will they both end up getting burned by Magdelena’s charade?

 

Excerpt:

Standing in front of the door to the suite, she let the magnitude of the moment sink in. All logic and practicality fled. She’d left both back at home with her pocket protector and sensible shoes. The situation called for her to be impulsive, daring and confident.

If you are, then he will finally be yours….

She smoothed her dress, adjusted her bra, and blew into her hand for a breath check. Satisfied, she slid her key card into the slot and pushed the door open.

A blaring TV welcomed her. Not that she expected a violin serenade, but she hadn’t planned on competing with a basketball game for her date’s attention. She frowned.

“Pass the ball, you idiot!” Will shouted.

Tingling from head to toe at the sound of his voice, she released a slow breath.

It’s now or never, Magdelena.

“Hello?” she called.

The TV turned off instantly. A second later, he walked into her view.

Her throat tightened.

The years had been good to him. No, they’d been great to him. Although she’d seen pictures on the alumni website, they didn’t do him justice. Every visible inch of his body appeared chiseled from stone. A dark gray shirt and black slacks perfectly accentuated every muscle. He wore his dark hair shorter than she’d seen in the photos, but his blue eyes were more piercing than ever. He looked her over, settling on her cleavage and her nipples that had come to attention the minute she saw him. Then he raised his eyes to meet hers.

“Hello, Elena.” His deep voice lit her soul on fire.

He doesn’t recognize me. This plan might work after all.

 

Buy links:

www.decadentpublishing.com

www.amazon.com

