Tags

, , ,

sofia1

Double Time cover

Overall rating – 4 silken sheets

silkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmall

I fell in love with Olivia Cunning’s bad-boy rockers in Backstage Pass and have gobbled up all her books since, both in the Sinners on Tour series and the spin-off, One Night With Sole Regret series. Right from the beginning, Trey Mills was my favourite and I couldn’t wait for his book to come out. I was a little disappointed to find it would be the last in the series, but hey, save the best until last. Right?

However. For some reason that I can’t understand, the publishers decided to release them out of order, bringing Trey’s book forward – yay! Great in theory, but in reality, it was confusing. Bad decision, Sourcebooks Casablanca.

Not only had Eric (Sticks) and Jace suddenly found the loves of their lives, but Myrna was about to have a baby… and there were several unfamiliar faces on the tour bus. I felt lost. I toyed with the idea of putting it to one side and waiting until I could fill the gaps before I read it… I wasn’t happy 😦

trey-mills-3 - mono

This is Trey (from Olivia’s website)

Trey aka Mr Cuddles is the sexiest rocker ever. He loves boys and girls equally. He just loves sex. Random, anonymous hookups are his norm. He even bangs one of the nurses on duty at the delivery of Brian and Myrna’s baby.

“Take off your pants,” he whispered.
When she obeyed, he knew she was in this until the end. Which he estimated would be approximately fifteen minutes in the future.

How could I wait for his story? How could anyone wait?

Thankfully, Olivia’s writing is such that after some initial WTF moments, I was sucked into the story.

Reagan Elliot auditions for the temporary position of rhythm guitarist with Exodus End (Trey’s brother’s band) and is an instant success. They are auditioning ‘blind’ and her playing is such that Trey, listening in the studio, believes it’s his best friend Brian on the guitar. He marches into the studio, convinced they’re playing a joke on him… and sees Reagan.

9352310_s girl with guitar mono

Except it wasn’t Brian playing ‘Gates of Hell’ to perfection. It was that woman. Her dirty-blonde hair was cut into a short sassy style. She wore faded army-green cargo pants, combat boots, a plain white tank top, and not a stitch of makeup. She held her red Stratocaster with authority and played it as if it were her little bitch. The woman was a fucking goddess.

She not only has a sassy haircut, she has a personality to match.

“So typically, you’re a responsible person?” Trey asked.
“I’m wearing nothing but my panties in a hot tub with a pair of rock star brothers – one of them naked. Does that sound responsible to you?”

Trey has been in love with his best friend and band mate (Brian) for ever. He had a hard time coping when Brian fell in love with and married Myrna, but now they’ve just had a baby, he’s really struggling.

Twelve years of sex without love. Twelve years of love without sex. And now that Trey had given up on Brian ever loving him or making love to him, he just felt hollow. Empty. Desolate. He doubted anything could fill the empty chasm inside.

I’m going to be picky. I felt that his all-encompassing love for Reagan was a little forced at the start. He wanted to be in love with someone, and she happened to be there. It was written that way, with Trey feeling angst and constantly questioning himself, and it almost worked.

“You make me feel whole,” she said. “Like that piece that’s always been missing has been filled. I didn’t even know it was there until you touched on it.”

Trey’s heart thudded as he tried to find words to describe what he was feeling. He’d felt something very similar to this before. With Brian.

For me it would have worked (I’d forgive Trey pretty much anything!), if he hadn’t gone and hooked up with Reagan’s room-mate, former lover and now bodyguard, Ethan.

I was fine with Ethan and Trey both fancying the pants off each other with instant attraction. That worked just fine. More than fine.

15577824_sI know Trey is bi, and I know that he needs both a boy and a girl in his life to feel truly fulfilled, and I’m fine with that. I’d love to be the girl in a Trey + Lover sandwich, believe me! It just happened a little too quickly, and with Reagan accepting it too easily.

Just talking to her made his heart flutter. “I love you, Reagan. I want you to know that having sex with another man won’t change how I feed about you. I will still love you. Do you believe me?” Trey asked.

Reagan was just too matter of fact about it… even Trey noticed!

“I want us to give this relationship another chance. When you need cock, go to Ethan. He can help.” She said it like Ethan was a mechanic who was going to change Trey’s oil.

Joining in with them was too much for her, and I got that. Again, it just felt a little forced. I didn’t really feel her anxiety. I felt Trey’s, every heartbeat of it, but I think Reagan came across a little two-dimensional. Maybe that’s a shortcoming of Olivia’s rockers. Myrna and Jessica were both a little flat compared to Brian and Sed.

Having said all that, it was a damn fine read and I resented having to put the book down for such interruptions as food and sleep. It was great catching up with Brian and Sed again, and seeing glimpses of Eric and Jace (I’m really looking forward to Jace’s story, BTW), also seeing the guys in Exodus End.

LINK to Sinners website

I swear the heat factor increases with every book in this series. By the time the last one comes out (a bit like them renumbering Star Wars…), they’ll need to issue icepacks and fans with each copy sold.

If you’ve read the other Sinners on Tour books, you can’t fail to love this. I did. I just didn’t love it quite as much as I wanted to.

sinner-site-ban - mono

P.S. You should really check out Olivia’s site (if you haven’t done so already).

In addition to tons of info, she has some cool fun stuff, including playlists, free short stories, wallpaper and much more… FUN STUFF

Overall rating 

silkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmall

Sexy rating

LipsSSSsmallLipsSSSsmallLipsSSSsmallLipsSSSsmallLipsSSSsmall
Plot – great
Characters – great
Warnings – m/m, m/m/f, anal play

DETAILS:
Genre: erotic romance
Published: Nov 2012
Price: $7.01 (Kindle)

Sourcebooks Casablanca | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

