Tags

, , , ,

Guest SigLiterary Foreplay

I often tell people that I’m a reader first and writer second. I’ve always wanted to be a writer but reading romance has always been my first true love, and admittedly I like my romances with more than a little touch of naughty. Fess up, I know I’m not the only one in that class. When I first started writing romances, whether it was poetry, a quickly jotted down short story or a full novel the one thing I made sure to include was the one element that always drew me to sensual and erotic romance reading to begin with-tension.

For me there is nothing like well drawn out tension in a romance. It makes the love and the smex so much hotter (and believable actually). I like it when characters ache for something. I want their need to build and explode on the pages as I read. In short I, like most women, am a fan of literary foreplay and I’m not ashamed to say it.

I love it when a writer teases not just their characters, but the readers with what is yet to come. As a reader it makes me want to see the characters and their love story through to the end. Do I want there to be little to no sex? Absolutely not. But do I want each scene to count and make me pant just as much as the characters? Hell yeah! It makes me relate so much more to them, because it makes me root not only for them but for their love for each other. I’m sure I’m not the only reader who appreciates it. I’m also sure that a good romance is mix of a lot of key ingredients. What’s the key ingredient for you when it comes to reading romance? What makes or breaks it for you?

negotiatingskills_catalogueNegotiating Skills

Book Length: Novella

Genre: Erotic Romance

Release Date: August 19th 2012

Witnessing a private act leads to a battle of wills some interesting negotiations… Software programmer Veronica James is struggling to make her new business a success. After finally landing a major account, she’s at risk of losing it all when she catches her new client Victor Rossi in a very compromising position. In an effort to regain the upper hand, Rossi insists on some very sexy and compromising concessions that have Veronica reconsidering her hard fast rule of not mixing business with pleasure.

Excerpt:

“I’m not drunk,” she said, wincing only slightly when she heard the slight slurring of her words.

Victor raised a dark eyebrow at her slurred declaration and made no move towards removing his hand from beneath her skirt.

“In the past few hours, I’ve seen you put enough liquor away to put any frat boy to shame. Whether you believe it or not, you’re drunk,” he continued, not bothering to hide his smirk.

“Well, if that’s the case, wouldn’t you consider this taking advantage of me?” She glared at him and then glanced pointedly down at her lap.

“Hmm, you have a point there.” He leaned forward and placed a finger from his free hand beneath her chin, drawing her head up to meet his gaze. “Tell you what–I’ll trade you for it.”

“Trade me? There’s no trade or negotiation here.” She glared at him again.

“Come on, Veronica. Where’s the fun in that?” He chuckled softly. “How about a friendly drinking game at the very least, or a game of Truth or Dare, instead?”

“Are you on drugs?” she asked scathingly. “What part of your tiny little brain thinks I want to be here right now?”

“Okay, Truth or Dare it is. I’ll go first. I choose dare,” he said, ignoring her cutting remark.

“How about you just move your hand and I decide not rip you a new ass hole?” She seethed.

“Okay,” he said, smiling softly at her.

She felt his hand flex underneath her skirt. She released her grip on him to allow his touch to withdraw.

“Dare accepted,” he said.

She saw a gleam brighten his eyes, and before she had a chance to voice a protest, she felt his unhindered hand plunge forward. His fingertips paused for a moment to stroke her smooth nether lips, and she couldn’t hold back the aroused whimper that escaped her mouth. She barely held back a moan when he slid a finger into her damp folds and began to slowly brush her clit with light, teasing strokes.

“What are you doing?” she managed to ask in a low, croaking voice.

“Just playing the game.”

 Negotiating Skills Available via…

All RomanceAmazonBnB | Kobo

About Laurel

Laurel is a romance author, who like most writers loves to read. Her first love (pun intended) has always been romance. From the sappy YA romance novel to the more risqué erotica novels, Laurel is a sucker for a good love story.

Laurel writes paranormal and contemporary romance and is a self proclaimed, out of the closet nerd. She admits that she can’t seem to avoid adding a bit of “nerdology” or “geek-dom” to all of her books. Living in Miami, she also admits that she can’t seem to avoid giving her heroines gorgeous shoes, “In Miami, we worship everything strappy, open toed and just plain hot!”

WebsiteBlogTwitter

