Tags

, , , , ,

Guest Sig

Today the ladies of Silken Sheets would like to welcome Jocelyn Dex to the blog! She writes erotic paranormal romance for Ellora’s Cave so settle in and be sure to say hello before you go!

Do you write to music? If so what was the sound track to Araya’s Addiction?

No. I haven’t even tried to write to music. Music really affects my mood and I think it would distract me. I do need background noise though so I always have the TV on. I change it up every once in a while but I usually have Supernatural on.

Where do you write?

I mostly write while sitting in bed with a doggie on my left, a doggie on my right, and a doggie in front of me. Sometimes they get frisky though and I have to move to a corner of the bedroom where I have a chair and laptop table set up.

What is the most you have written in one day?

I don’t know exactly, but I recently wrote 2500 words in one sitting. Yeah, ok, 2500 might not be much for some people but it was exciting for me. I hope to quadruple that one day.

What is your best guilty pleasure? (By best I mean worst.)

I thought about this for a while and realized I don’t feel guilty about most of my pleasures. However, when I’m in the checkout lane in the grocery store, those damn Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups call to me. “Jocelyn,” they taunt, “buy me. Eat me. You know you can’t resist our chocolaty, peanut buttery goodness.” They are usually correct. Bastards.

You have to jump out of a plane w/ a holey parachute or edit your 100K MS by hand, what. do. you. do?

If I wrote a 100K manuscript, I’d be freaking thrilled and damn sure wouldn’t jump out of a plane with a holey or non-holey parachute! Bring on the pen and paper. I’d edit by hand.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Well, I wrote a sex scene for another story (not yet published) and told my husband that I wasn’t sure it would work. I joked that he needed to help me figure it out. He didn’t hesitate to say, “Let’s go.” Ha. I ended up slightly altering the scene after that!

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Isaac Marion surprised me with Warm Bodies. Zombie books are not usually my thing but I gave it a chance and enjoyed it – big time. The writing in that book is… pretty. 🙂

What are your current projects?

I’m working on the second story in the world of Sempires. It features Araya’s sister, Valia and of course, a super hunky demon male. Valia is fun in an “I’m awesome and I know it” kind of way.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My BFFF. We’ve been friends for twenty-eight years. She always tells me, “You are so fucking awesome.” Ha. On the day my book was accepted for publication, I was all bananas and could barely breathe and she calmly said, “I’m not surprised.” Then she had a bunch of “congratulations” balloons delivered to me. She also bought my book five times on release day. Haha! Thanks, G! You are the most awesome “Cynthia” I know! (Sorry, private joke.)

Do you see writing as a career?

I’d love it and think it could be a career if I wrote faster but at this point, I don’t know. Right now, I enjoy writing but if I felt too much pressure to put out books, it would feel like a job and that would suck.

Who designed the cover?

Syneca Featherstone designed the cover for Araya’s Addiction. I was SO worried that I would hate the cover, but I was/am thrilled with it! Yea! Thanks Syneca!

Do you have any advice for other writers?

There is one thing. I read, over and over and over, that you need a critique partner – get a critique partner – gotta have a critique partner. I stressed over that. Where the hell was I supposed to get one of those? I looked online and it never felt right. So, I said, “screw it” and decided it just wasn’t for me. So my advice is… Don’t stress over finding a critique partner. I’m sure it’s helpful but it is not an absolute necessity.

Bonus Round:

Coffee/Tea? Green Tea

Cake/Cookies? White chocolate Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups

Coke/Pepsi? Coke

Heels/Flats? Flats

BDB/The Order? BDB

Vampires/Werewolves? Vampires

Cats/Dogs? Both!

Fly/Drive? Fly

 

arayasaddiction_msrBlurb

When Kean wakes up naked, collared and locked in a cell, he knows thinking with his dick has finally gotten him into trouble. Part Incubus, Kean enjoys scorching sexual liaisons, a habit that has found him trapped, forced to help a Sempire, a semen-reliant demon, rescue her daughter from certain death.

Unwilling to aid in anyone’s imprisonment, Araya initially refuses her mother’s “gift”, but the passion simmering between her and Kean is undeniable. As they explore their shared lust, both Araya and Kean enact schemes to save each other. Their best laid plans may awaken emotions that will bind them forever.

Excerpt

Araya reached the door, and the sight that met her eyes almost floored her. Through the fog of the glass shower door, she watched Kean’s muscled form beneath the flow of water, his head bent forward, one hand pressed against the shower wall in front of him. The other hand gripped and stroked his shaft. He pumped it with long, slow strokes from base to tip, sometimes lingering at the head.

His eyes opened as if he sensed her presence, and he inclined his head toward her. She wanted to close the door, but the alluring scene held her captive, her feet frozen in place. He stopped stroking himself just long enough to slide open the shower door, giving her a completely unobstructed view of the water running down his muscled body, running off the thick head of his erection.

Not only did her mouth water, her pussy ached and flooded with desire.

He resumed the stroking, faster this time, sometimes breaking the motion to slide his fingers over his balls. She saw the muscles in his arm tense as he squeezed and stroked harder, faster.

His strained voice startled her out of her daze. “If you want it, hurry.”

Araya took a step forward, wanting, needing, desiring. Instead, she jumped back and slammed the door shut between her and the temptation. She leaned against the door, breathing heavily. She’d never seen anything so intriguing, so beautiful, so freaking sexy. She’d almost lost herself. She’d never been so close to dropping to her knees and welcoming a hard, thick intrusion into her mouth and sucking until it filled her with liquid heaven.

She fell backward as the door opened but Kean caught her and scooped her into his arms.

“What are you doing?” she asked.

“Carrying you to bed.”

“Why?” she squeaked.

“I’m a sucker for a female in need of an orgasm.”

“What? I don’t-I–” she sputtered.

“Either I’m giving you an orgasm or you’re giving yourself one. But I won’t be able to concentrate on anything else with the smell of your need clogging my brain. Your choice.”

jocdexblackwhiteBio

Jocelyn was born in Iowa and currently resides in Texas. Her preferred vacation locations are islands with sandy beaches, palm trees, iguanas and blue-green water.

She shares her home with her very own 6’4″ alpha male and varying numbers of spoiled cats and dogs. Teaching one of her dogs to file his own nails is one of her all-time favorite accomplishments.

Jocelyn loves to paint, loves to read, and loves to write sizzling erotic romance about yummy demons that would make your momma blush.

Amazon | Website | Facebook | Twitter | Blog | Goodreads

