Tags

, ,

image

What’s that? Do I get to ride on a float and throw beads? Sorry, that’d be a no. That’s crew spelled Krewe, and Mardi Gras is over. What I’m talking about is like a virtual street team. Digital elves whose job it is to go forth into the virtual world and spread the word about my books by posting reviews on sites like Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and All Romance eBooks.

First, I can not claim to be the genius who came up with this idea. But, I can claim to be smart enough to know a good freaking idea when I see one! I read about this over at Smart Bitches who interviewed Susan Mallery–who is the genius in question (well, she and her agent–so half a genius?).

Anyway, the point is this. I am putting out a call for volunteers to post a FAIR AND HONEST review (that means if you thought the book sucked you should say so–as nicely as possible) on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and All Romance eBooks in exchange for a free copy. The reviews need not be elaborate. Say what you might to a friend if you were making a recommendation about the book. Say what you did or didn’t like and why in a few lines and your done! No blog review site required and no experience necessary.

If you post your reviews then you will be automatically included the next time I have a book come out (assuming you want to be). So on, and so forth in a vicious–uh–harmonious cycle. Assuming this works well, I would keep doing this.

Why do this? Well, an important part of writing is selling. And honestly, most book sellers sites have crazy algorithm thingies that pick up on reviews and use those to bring attention to books. In the Smart Bitches post they discuss this a bit more, so check it out if you have a burning need to know. The point here is to generate interest in the book through reviews–good and bad.

What I like about this idea is that it opens the door to readers who may otherwise never have the opportunity because they are not interested in running a blog or otherwise posting about all kinds of books. I have no idea what the level of interest might be so if I get an unexpected flood of crew requests I may have to randomly pick some names because I will be funding this out of my promo budget which is non-existent. I will let folks know if it comes to that…but I have no illusions of grandeur.

So, if you’re interested in finding out more email me at sorcha (dot) mowbray (at) gmail (dot) com and put REVIEW CREW in all caps in the subject line. I will pull together all the details and shoot it out to those who are interested. Remember, no experience required!

What do you think? Do you like this idea? Even if you don’t sign up for my crew, would you sign up for one of an author you really liked?

