Tags

, , , , , ,

Guest SigToday we’re welcoming Denyse Bridger to Silken Sheets. You are going to love the story behind her first book! I know I was smiling as I read it. 🙂

What genres do you write besides erotic romance?

I write in virtually all genres, I like to combine the romance that is always the backbone of my stories with other genres, like mystery, thriller, action, historical, paranormal. Just about everything. The only genre I haven’t attempted yet is Science Fiction. I often think the genre I do best is historical, but most people are classifying me as a paranormal writer these days.

 

What is the most you have written in one day?

So far, the highest word count for a single say is 15,000 words. But I was exhausted at the end of that day. If I can get 5000 down in a day, it’s a good one in my mind. I try to get a chapter done in one day when I’m working on a novel, if it’s a shorter piece, I’m content with a lower word count.

 

What are you currently reading?

At the moment I’m reading Lori Foster’s Men Who Walk The Edge of Honor series, and absolutely loving it!

 

What inspired you to write your first book?

Well, I’ve told this story before, but I’ll add something to it this time. My first real story as an adult came about as a result of me being frustrated with the way my favourite television series was progressing at the time. So, I decided to write my own story for it. I’d never heard of fan fiction before, so it wasn’t like I was planning to publish it.

I sent it to the actor I liked in the show, as a gift, and imagine my surprise when 13 days later I picked up the phone late at night and it was the actor calling me from the set in Los Angeles? He’d read the story on a break and loved it – told me it was better than what they were filming. He encouraged me to keep writing and told me I had a real talent for it.

I heard this many more times before I finally took the leap to a pro submission. That was for a contest, and because I wasn’t too keen or confident, I had decided not to enter. Two days before the deadline, the entire story just exploded in my head. I wrote it in one day, polished it the second day, and submitted it just under the deadline.

Two weeks later, I was told I was one of the winners and given my first contract. That story is now “Another Man’s Wife” with Samhain, having been reedited and revised once the original contract expired. I haven’t stopped writing and publishing since. It’s been an amazing journey!

 

What are your current projects?

I am currently finishing up a new novel that I hope to place with Noble Romance, my first new title with them in almost three years. I have two new books about ready to go to Ellora’s Cave, and a commissioned thriller for another of my publishers. All in all, I’m busy. Plus, I have set a goal of two more completed novels for this year – a paranormal fantasy, and my first effort at a young adult fantasy.

 

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Actually, I posted the complete first chapter of the new novel on my blog recently, to see if readers would find it interesting. The post can be found here, and this is the book that I’m hoping to have with Noble Romance this year. It’s not an erotic romance, it’s more a mainstream romance: http://fantasy-pages.blogspot.com/2013/01/grande-amore-chapter-one.html

 

Bonus Round:

 

Coffee/Tea?  TEA

Cake/Cookies? BOTH!

Coke/Pepsi? PEPSI

Heels/Flats? HEELS

Bikini/One-piece? ONE-PIECE

Vampires/Werewolves? VAMPS

Alpha/Beta? ALPHA

Cats/Dogs? DOGS

Fly/Drive? FLY

 

recklessassignation_msr

 

RECKLESS ASSIGNATION

From Ellora’s Cave – Quickies™ Breathless

Link: http://www.ellorascave.com/reckless-assignation.html

 

The shock of the cool chair against her bare skin sent another shiver through Cinthya. But before she could recover completely, Rick had most of her clothes off and was halfway through tying her ankles back to the legs of the chair, this time to the back legs, leaving her thighs spread wide.

 

Her heartbeat doubled when his fingers began a slow, barely perceptible pattern of caressing her legs, starting at the back of her ankles and gradually moving upward. The room actually did a crazy spin when Rick bent his head and started following the path of his roaming hands with his lips.

 

Cinthya squirmed with renewed urgency as she tried to free herself from the surprisingly strong bonds. Rick’s tongue barely touched the wet folds between her legs, but the featherlike contact created a spasm of reaction in her. She shuddered and gasped, the sound becoming a tiny moan when he repeated the gesture with a slow, lingering sensuality. Then he leaned back to look up into her eyes.

 

“Why…?” She wasn’t even sure what it was she wanted to ask as the words got caught in another trembling twitch. His fingers were smoothing gentle touches on the inner skin of her thighs.

 

“Because I love you, Cindi,” he answered around a huge smile, supplying his own meaning to the gasped query.

 

She looked down to watch his hand brushing over the dark-gold thatch of hair between her thighs and tried to thrust into the contact. Frustration played through her when he refused to accommodate her.

 

“Rick? Do you think maybe you could love me a little faster?” The words were expelled like a choked breath of air and her face warmed with the heat of her embarrassment as well as her passion.

 

“How fast are you thinking, sweetheart?” His grin was on the verge of dissolving into laughter.

 

His finger finally delving into her wet heat effectively cut off any attempt at an answer, her hips again shifting into his touch. He probed deeper into her and started a slow, gentle rhythm, his own breath becoming audibly strained when her head fell back and her lips parted with a breathy sigh.

 

 SignatureLine_DenyseBridger_SMALL

 

 

Denysé Bridger
“Live the Romance, Become the Fantasy…”
** Predators & Editors Best Author 2012 **
** Best-Selling Author of 2011 **
WEBSITE: http://www.denysebridger.com
Fantasy Pages (general): http://fantasy-pages.blogspot.com
Bound By Passion (adult content): http://boundpassion.blogspot.com

