Tags

, , , , , ,

aaasorcha_finalSigWriting my first menagerie scene was…ya’ know I didn’t really think about it much. That sounds bad, right? What I mean is it was such a natural part of the story–part of Marie’s one-upmanship–that it really just flowed.

I mean there were mechanics to work out, lines to draw, and some to cross. But, it was such a key scene to the book I can’t imagine the story without it.

So, why another woman? Well, first and foremost it is a common male fantasy to be with two women. Second, the point of the interlude is for her to prove to him how depraved and inappropriate she is. While having another man in the mix would work, too, there is a fine line between making a point and simply pushing someone’s button. The goal was not to send Heart into a jealous rage. Third, is the issue of trust. Marie needed to include someone she could trust to keep quiet.

Of course, plans have a way of going awry and hers does. I won’t spill the beans, but Heart has his own surprise for Marie. The experience only brings them closer and elevates Marie’s level of panic.

I had a lot of fun writing the M/F/F scene and I am happy to say that I am working on a dystopian futuristic story that is a polyamorous love story. As opposed to being a passing exchange, it is the focus of the story. And, because I like a challenge, I decided to write a M/M/M/F relationship.

My poor mother will probably have a heart attack, but it is a fun story to write and it is shaping up to be a real adventure.

Now, I want to know, how do you feel about menagerie and more? Do you prefer a passing interlude or a fully focused story?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

