EliseLegsI normally have to employ a whole host of tricks to get myself stoked and ready to write in the morning. That most often includes Disney music, tea laced with flavored coffee creamer, and copious amounts of reality TV. Basically whatever will get my mind recharged and in working order. One of my favorite tricks involves looking up videos of Damon and Elena scenes from The Vampire Diaries–shhh, secretly I’m still totally thirteen. I also drink canned flavored seltzer water so I can trick my brain into thinking it’s soda since I haven’t had soda in four or five years. So yeah, I have a bag of tricks. Without them I’m pretty sure I’d just stare out the window every day and never get anything done. Ever.

Top Five Tricks of my Writing Trade:

5. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=vXbXNCKEYak

4. Promising myself a date with Christian Bale if I just write another hundred words

3. Exchanging lollipops for every page edited, like the doctor’s, only with a verbal needle instead of an actual one. Much preferred by me considering I’m flailing, kill a bitch, terrified of needles. Seriously, I turn into the Hulk.

2. Only using single space in all of my work in progresses so it looks like I’ve written way less than I actually have, which means I write more to compensate.

1. Telling myself I can quit tomorrow if I want too–yeah, that’s the ultimate dupe. Me and my career, we’re stuck together now. Sometimes this is how I get through a whole week of writing like crazy, ala my friend Mamakitty, it’s like the Dreaded Pirate Roberts Theory: Good night Westley, Sleep Well, I’ll Most Likely Kill You In The Morning. That’s how I feel about my books. Good night books, I’ll probably delete you all soon and begin my life anew as Ian Somerhalder’s right hand woman for saving animals all over the world. But then I write another word, swear a lot, and start all over again.

Even when my writing makes me feel like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?list=PLE3F7556B710480FD&feature=player_detailpage&v=3jNlIGDRkvQ

Oh writing, I develop coping mechanisms because I just can’t quit you. Even if I could have this waiting for me at the end of my day: 

