Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

sofia1

Continuing with my Obsession Blog Tour

businessman

I’ve always been wary of charming men. Their easy smiles and light banter usually come at a cost, in my experience. A boss of mine from many years ago, could charm the birds from the trees and make them sing a song of his choosing. He was universally loved, a hit with the senior management and customers alike, and climbed effortlessly up the corporate ladder. They didn’t see the real him, not like we did. In the confines of our office, he was a tyrant of the cruellest kind. If you dared to refuse him, he made your life hell, it was that simple. I’ve seen work colleagues crushed and in tears because he publicly humiliated them. It was a lesson I learned quickly and have always been wary of.

Much later, while researching for a book, I Googled psychopath / sociopath and found a perfect description of my old boss. It was uncanny!

Charming, entertaining, witty –  Sociopaths look and act like your best friend

Why sociopaths are hard to recognize
1. They’re fluent talkers (liars). Even when caught in a lie, they change their stories without skipping a beat. Yep, he could lie as easily as breathing. “Of course we despatched that order, it left the warehouse yesterday.”

confident man2. They’re totally comfortable in social situations and cool under pressure. Life and soul of every party, conference and customer meeting.

3. They use family or business connections to make themselves appear legitimate. Name-dropping was routine. “Did you know I played squash with… yesterday?”

4. They’re happy to exaggerate—or fabricate—credentials. Few of us check their references. Exaggeration was commonplace. Woe betide you if you called him on it!

5. They will say absolutely anything—”I love you,” “You can trust me,” “I’ll never do it again.” The words, to them, mean absolutely nothing. “You’re my most valued employee,” the day before he transferred someone to a different office, hundreds of miles away.

*

In my latest release, Obsession, you could argue that Gabe Bridgewater meets the definition of a sociopath. Hugely successful in his Formula 1 racing career, he has the world at his feet, a beautiful and equally successful wife, and is loved and adored for his charm. Behind closed doors however, it’s a different story.

In the excerpt below, Suki is preparing coffee with the help of Gabe’s teammate and rival, Jon.
*

Jon was a serious piece of eye candy and Gabe battled with him in that arena, too. They were both popular faces in the press and the media, and vied for lucrative sponsorship deals as fiercely as they fought for supremacy on the track.
handsome guy in kitchen“Congratulations on Montreal, by the way.” His most recent win had left Gabe smarting with a reluctant third place.
“Thanks. It was a tough scrap. Gabe was unlucky, it should have been his.” He poured milk as he spoke, turning back to me when it was done. “Do you want me to put sugar out as well?”

“I hope I’m not interrupting anything.” Gabe’s cool voice washed over us. I jumped. This was ridiculous; he made me feel guilty even when I hadn’t been doing anything.

“Of course not, darling. Jon was just helping me with the coffee.”

“No need, I can do that.” He moved forward to take the pots I’d prepared, giving Jon a patently false smile. “Hey Jon, I just heard about the Zircon campaign. I believe you were in the running. Bad luck.”

“Oh, yeah.” Jon shrugged, looking totally unworried. “Did you get it?”

“Yeah.” Gabe sounded nonchalant. I glared at him.

“Well done, mate. I’m not bothered about Zircon.” Jon flashed him a beaming grin. “Pulsata asked me to front their next campaign, so I thought that was a better bet. I pulled out from Zircon. It was good you could cover it instead.”

I blinked, busying myself with the teaspoons. Oh Christ. Gabe had been talking about the Zircon advertising for months, convinced he was their first choice. I risked a quick look at him. His cool expression stayed in place, with a hint of a friendly smile as he lifted the pots of coffee. I doubt if Jon saw the way his fingers clenched around the handles, the knuckles showing white against his skin.

*
Do you know any charmers? And what have they talked you into doing? Leave a comment and you’ll go into a draw to win a copy of Obsession.

perf5.000x8.000.indd Josh Delaney is the ideal honey trap.

His charm and model good looks would be enough for most women, but coupled with his psychic ability to read their thoughts, he’s impossible to resist. Suspicious husbands employ him to test their wives, to see if they can be tempted to stray.

High profile couple Suki and Gabe Bridgewater have the perfect marriage, or at least, that’s the image they portray to the world. Behind closed doors, Gabe’s dominance in the marriage is unravelling and he decides to test Suki, using Josh as bait.

For Josh it should be just another easy job, but two things go horribly wrong.

One, Josh falls in love with Suki.

And two, Gabe refuses to let her go.
*
Amazon link

And check out my trailer.

*

Obsession - blog tour banner final

Blog tours are fun to take part in, these are my stops:

· 12 June – Layne Macadam (http://laynemacadam.blogspot.co.nz/)
· 13 June – Laura Kaye (http://laurakayeauthor.blogspot.co.nz/)
· 14 June – Lissa Matthews (http://lissamatthews.com/blog/)
· 15 June – Cover Reveals website (http://coverreveals.blogspot.co.nz/)
· 16 June –Ella Frank (http://ellafrank30.wordpress.com/)
· 17 June – Allyson Lindt (http://blog.apathyshero.com/)
· 18 June – Parker Kincade (http://parkerkincade.blogspot.co.nz/)
· 20 June –Trish McCallan (http://trishmccallan.blogspot.co.nz/)
· 21 June – Tina Carreiro (tinacarreiro.blogspot.com/)
· 23 June – Silken Sheets & Seduction (https://silkensheetsandseduction.wordpress.com/)
· 26 June – Sotia Lazu (http://justsotia.blogspot.co.nz/)
· 29 June – Love Lust & Laptops (http://lovelustandlaptops.wordpress.com/)

About Author:
Romance author Sofia Grey spends her days managing projects in the corporate world and her nights hanging out with wolf shifters and alpha males. She devours pretty much anything in the fiction line, but she prefers her romances to be hot, and her heroes to have hidden depths. When writing, she enjoys peeling back the layers to expose her characters’ flaws and always makes them work hard for their happy endings.
Find her at: http://www.sofiagrey.com and on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/sofiagrey1, or on Twitter @SofiaGreyAuthor

* images courtesy of 123rf.com

