Tags

, , , , ,

Eva2

Believe it or not I saw a link to this post on Asexuality on Facebook. It had been posted by a gay friend of mine! Which was a head-scratcher but oh well.

Turns out Huffington Post has a six-part series on Asexuality. What is it? What are the options? What are the issues with it? Basically they are people that do not experience sexual attraction.

Unlike celibacy, which people choose, asexuality is an intrinsic part of who we are. Asexuality does not make our lives any worse or any better, we just face a different set of challenges than most sexual people. There is considerable diversity among the asexual community; each asexual person experiences things like relationships, attraction and arousal somewhat differently.

That was definitely a new twist for me. I’ve always been on the opposite end of non-attraction. Ever since the hormones hit in high school, I’ve been hella sexually attracted and can’t imagine being otherwise. In fact, all those menopause hoo-doo voo-doos about women losing all sexual interest scare the hoola out of me! What would my life be  without sex? I can’t even imagine.

But of course, Asexuality is different. It’s more like not feeling an attraction or not feeling like one needs to have sex at all either for enjoyment or to further cement a relationship, or perhaps only having sexual contact in a very minimal way. There’s lots of ways I can think about this, but as far as fiction goes, I have to say the asexual men are hotter! Take Spock for instance. Talk about not interested (most of the time) and boy was that attractive to most gals 🙂

And I’m not so sure that most paranormal (I’m thinking Sherrlyn Kenyon here) or other genre romance heroes don’t start out that way in the book. Usually they’ve cut themselves off from love and sex for so long … they seem almost asexual to me. But of course that’s different. Deep inside they want it. The asexuals don’t.

But I wonder if we’ll see a new trend in romance books – the happy asexual pairing – cropping up soon.

What would it look like? Would I read it without the hot sex? That remains to be seen…. Has anybody else  heard of this phenomenon?

Happy reading!

Eva

