Tags

, , , , , ,

Guest Sig

Hello all.

I am happy to welcome back author Jess Michaels to the Sheets today. She has an interview for us and more about her book, Taken by the Duke. If you like *hawt* historicals, do check this one out!

Jess Michaels interview:

How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing since 1999. So 14 years?

Where do you write?

I have an office in our house where I do most of my writing. My window overlooks our mountain, so that makes it nice. 🙂

You have to jump out of a plane w/ a holey parachute or edit your 100K MS by hand, what. do. you. do?

I would totally do the manuscript. I like editing, actually and do a lot of it by hand.

How did you come up with the title?

The heroine is kidnapped by a Duke, so Taken By the Duke made sense. 🙂 I do my best to pick titles that make sense with the story and capture how sexy the story will be.

What are your current projects?

I will be starting the third book in my Pleasure Wars series (which starts with Taken By the Duke July 2) and I have two more series contracted after that, all erotic historical romance.

Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, this is my full-time job and I support my family with my royalties.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t think so. Once a book is all finished, I have to let it go. I really love Ava and Christian and I just hope readers fall in love with them as much.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I have a hard time not turning “off”. I’m pretty much always working on writing or promoting, which means I sometimes burn out. So I’m working on it. Balance is important.

Who designed the cover?

Samhain contracts Hot Damn Designs for all of my covers. It’s awesome, isn’t it?

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The process of publication is always the hardest part. I worry about how the book will perform and take it to heart pretty deeply. I love writing, there are certainly tough days, but it’s mostly pleasurable.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep writing and learn your craft. Also, know what your goals are as an author, that will help you figure out how you want to publish, what you want to do as far as building your brand and platform.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I just want to say a big thank you to everyone who buys my books. And I hope you enjoy Taken By the Duke, which is available now!

Bonus Round:

Coffee/Tea?                Neither. Diet Coke.

Cake/Cookies?           Also neither. LOL I try to eat gluten free, but I’d take a cupcake.

Coke/Pepsi?               Coke.

Heels/Flats?               Flats

BDB/The Order?         I don’t know what those are. LOL

Vampires/Werewolves?  Probably werewolves.

Cats/Dogs?               Cats

Fly/Drive?                 Fly but I’d really like to warp.

Ah, I like that you don’t want to jump with a holey parachute Jess, and would rather warp! That’s a great scifi answer for sure. Now let’s hear more about Taken by the Duke!

Blurb:TakenByTheDuke300

Amid all the lies and scandals that fuel Society’s gossip mill, one truth has always stood out: House Rothcastle and House Windbury have always hated each other.Lady Ava Windbury prays the feud will someday end, to no avail. One dreadful night, her brother accidentally causes the death of Christian Rothcastle’s sister, a tragedy that leaves both men maimed.

Consumed by grief, Christian makes a grim decision. He will kidnap Lady Ava so that her family will feel the pain of loss as keenly as he feels the loss of his own sister. But once he has Ava in his clutches, desire takes unexpected hold. Even more surprising, she willingly surrenders to his every sexual whim—after haggling over the terms of giving up her virginity.

Too late, he realizes she is using her body for peace, not war. But just as their affair of revenges turns into an affair of the heart, the past rears its ugly head to take matters into its own hands…

Excerpt:

Prologue

December 1812

In the ranks of the ton, there were dozens of scandals every Season. Over the course of a decade, perhaps a hundred or more. In the course of a century, they numbered in the thousands, of varying depth and destructive influence. But there was one scandal, or rather set of scandals, that had been a subject of whispers for five generations. One that had made two names infamous. That was the war between the House of Rothcastle and the House of Windbury.

How it had begun, no one could say, perhaps not even the parties currently involved. A slight at a ball? A cheat at a game of cards? Perhaps even a betrayal of a friendship (for there was a nasty rumor that the families had once been friendly long ago—no one believed it could be possible). Whatever the cause, once their war had begun, it had never found a truce. At times it had been cold. At times there were years between battles.

But at this current moment it was as hot as it had ever been. And as the current Duke of Rothcastle rounded a corner on his horse at breakneck speed, that war grew only more desperate and heated. As keenly as any of his kin ever had, Christian felt the hatred for his enemy, the current Earl of Windbury, whose friends called him Liam, though Christian would never call him anything but bastard. Windbury was as bad as any of his family. He was cruel, he was greedy, he was wicked to the core and he was a thief. In fact, Windbury had stolen something very precious to Christian, and he intended to get it back at any cost.

He dug his heels into his mount, and the horse responded to the pressure by leaping ever faster, and there Christian saw his quarry. Windbury’s audacious High Perch phaeton was just a few horse lengths in front of him, riding at nearly as fast a speed as Christian could manage on his own with a horse that had been running for over an hour.

Perhaps if he had paused to think of it, Christian might have allowed his cooler mind to prevail, his intellect to examine what was happening. But he did not pause, only leaned in and cut a corner in the road to gain ground on Windbury’s carriage.

Thanks for being here, Jess! Good luck with your series and come back any time!

 

