Tags

, ,

aaaGillian_SigI just found out about a writer’s group in my small town. Well, I actually knew about it months ago but back then there were only five people in the group and none of them were dirty authors like me. I think there were two middle school authors, a few more YA authors and one guy who was writing a nonfictional generational story from the point of view of the house they all lived in. Needless to say, I didn’t feel all that welcome considering the kind of stuff I write.

But then over the weekend there was a feature in my local paper about how the group has grown from the original five members to over twenty. So now there’s a better chance that out of group of twenty, I might find someone who I’ll click with in a writerly way.

I’ve never been a part of a IRL writing group. I’ve been a member of a few online groups, a critique group and Romance Divas (which I can’t recommend enough!) but live and in person? Not so much. As long as I’ve been writing, I’ve lived in small towns. Like really small. And now living in Nevada, my small town is surrounded by a whole lot of nothing so no nearby metropolitan areas. The nearest RWA chapter is a four hour drive away.

Anyhow, this is my long winded way of saying I’m scared. Like most writers I’m more of an introverted person, especially when it comes to my writing. The group’s next meeting isn’t until next week but they’re having a write in at a local coffee shop this Saturday. *cue panicked hysteria*

But I’m going to make myself go. I just might whimper the entire drive over.

