Rachel1I adore those little personal coffee pots.  Especially the purple ones.  But I have a coffee pot… and my office is only steps from the kitchen, so I can’t really justify it.  Heck, the small one costs almost as much as the larger ones.  Still, I couldn’t help but wonder, as I tried to rationalize the purchase, could it be tax deductible if I kept it in my writing room?

Which got me to thinking what about the coffee I drink?  Or the chocolate that keeps Rachel Kenley's favorite coffee potme going?  Could I write those off as business expenses?  How about all my favorite mugs (I have way too many, but if they’re tax deductible, I’m sure I could find room for more.)

And if I can… then how about the fiction books I buy to keep tabs on what other writers are doing well and successfully. (See earlier parenthetical about mugs).  It’s important that I know what is being published and by whom.

I carry a fairly large pocketbook all the time so I can fit a notepad in it.  Can’t go anywhere without one.  I feel naked.  My pens and note pad are a deduction, so… how about the purse?

I’m sure if I think about it long enough, I’ll be able to come up with at least a half a dozen more ways to give my CPA a heart attack.

How about you?  What do you use that isn’t strictly part of your business, but you can’t truly do without?

