Tags

, , , ,

sofia1

Overall rating – 4 silken sheets

silkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmall

young couple huggingSienna Jensen had no plans to return home when she graduated college last spring—after all, her dreams lie in California. But when she discovers her grandmother’s Nashville home has been foreclosed, and the new owner has started the eviction process, Sienna has no other choice but go back to Music City. And she comes face to face with the flawed, gorgeous man she never thought she’d see again. The man who now holds the deed to her grandma’s estate.

When millionaire rock star Lucas Wolfe finds the outspoken redhead glaring at him from across a courtroom, he’s both infuriated and intrigued. He still can’t get the night Sienna almost spent with him out of his mind, and the chemistry between them is as undeniable as it was two years ago. He craves Sienna more than ever. And just like everything Lucas hungers for, he’s determined to have her.

Now, Lucas will do whatever it takes to lure Sienna into his bed, even if that means making a deal with her: ten days with him, playing by his rules, and he’ll hand over the deed to her grandmother’s home. Though she agrees to the arrangement, Sienna is conflicted. Because of her duty to her family. Because of promises she’s made to herself and a past that still haunts her. And as Lucas’s game of seduction continues, and Sienna is introduced to his dark, erotic world and even darker background, she realizes that at any moment, she could be devoured.

*

He already knows he’s my kryptonite.

I adore rock star books, and I love it when they hook up with non-famous people. Devoured had been around for a while, (October 2012) and had been lurking on my Kindle for ages. I noticed a prequel had been released (All Over You) and figured it was time to find out for myself, if it was as good as I’d heard.

Lucas Wolfe (love the name, btw) is your typical rock God. What he wants, he gets, and Sienna is the one that got away – the only one to say NO to him. So of course, he wants her 8275219_smore than ever 🙂

He sees her for the first time in two years, across the crowded courtroom:

*

A slow, animalistic smile of realization stretches across Lucas Wolfe’s face.

It makes me feel like he’ll devour me whole at any second.

It’s also the exact same grin he gave me two years ago, right after I refused to let him cuff me to his bed, and just before he literally told me to get the fuck out of his house.

*

And as you might expect, he pursues her. First to the nearby coffee shop…

*

“I’m here because some douchebag musician from California bought my grandmother’s house.”

*

…and then to a restaurant (via his sister, who doubles as his assistant).  Once there, he makes his proposal: she spends ten days with him as his assistant, and he’ll hand over the deeds to her grandmother’s house. Sounds too easy.

*

6284629_s“But what do you have to gain by this? If you don’t want me to have sex with you, why make this kind of offer?”

“Do you know what I realised about you?” he asks, seemingly changing the subject. When I don’t answer, he keeps talking. “You are infuriatingly submissive to everyone around you… except me.”

*

Yes, he loves a challenge.

*

“You want me to submit to you,” I whisper, and I’m not sure if I’m disgusted or turned on.

“I want you to do it willingly, yes,” he says.

*

“And no making me do sexual favours?” I ask one final time.

His lips curl up into a hungry smile and I know there’s a caveat. “Oh, we’ll fuck, Sienna. Believe me, it’s been bound to happen since I first laid eyes on you. But this time it’s going to be because you beg me. Not the other way around. And when you do, it’ll be because you’re ready to completely give yourself to me.”

*

The stage was set, the players were waiting in the wings, and I was on tenterhooks waiting for it to happen. This book entranced me, sure, and I gobbled it up in just over a day, but like eating a giant ice cream, there wasn’t much substance to it. It delighted and frustrated me in turn. Lucas Wolfe was everything a sexy rock star should be. Obsessive, hot, rich and arrogant. Oh and talented, as well as slightly kinky.

6156317_sI loved the scene where he snuck into a bar to watch a cover band perform his hits, and then got recognized:

*

Dude, you’re Lucas-Fucking-Wolfe. You’re in my parents’ bar and sitting at table with me and I’m about to freak out.” The way she says his name, whispering it reverently, brings out his panty-slaying smile.

*

Like all fictional rock stars, he craves attention and the adulation of his fans, and Devoured handles that beautifully. It also showed us the introspective-behind-the-scenes Lucas. Sienna is woken by the sound of piano music, from Lucas, downstairs:

*

3707362_sLucas doesn’t look up when I open the door to the piano room, but I know he’s aware that I’m in here because his back straightens and his shoulders tense up. I sag against the doorframe, listening to him, drinking this moment in. He’s shirtless, wearing nothing but a pair of jeans that ride low on the hips. Lucas Wolfe is all muscles and tattoos and sexiness, but it’s his music that has a way of getting to me. It strips me down.

*

Although their agreement states clearly that they won’t have sex, Lucas is still able to touch her and he does this shamelessly in an attempt to get her to weaken and submit to him.

*

As I leave the room, I become aware that my panties are still pushed aside. And that as long as I am around Lucas, he’ll keep pushing me away and then pulling me right back to him. Consuming me until there’s nothing left.

*

I loved all the teasing and the touching. The anticipation was sweet, but the sex itself felt strangely anti-climactic. They also didn’t mention use of a condom or birth control (this is a guy that has a fresh woman every week. Condoms should be mandatory!). After so much drawn out waiting (86% of the story), the actual event was over too quickly. I felt cheated.

There were other things that disappointed me: some confusion over the duration of the contract (at one point it was ten days, then later referred to as seven); and the missed opportunities by the author. There were several times I was on the edge of my seat waiting for something… that didn’t happen.

11871572_sI admit I was also cross at the abrupt ending. I wondered if Emily Snow had started with one large book and been advised to cut it onto two shorter ones, thus needing a distinct ending to be inserted. It felt unfinished. The story arc is firmly in place though, and the second in the series is due out later this year. There’s also a spin-off series about his bandmates.

The supporting cast was large and colourful, from Sienna’s best friend, her skanky brother, her in-pieces grandmother and her criminal mother, to Lucas’s quirky sister, his obnoxious bandmate and his bizarre ex-wife. There was a lot going on, but there could have been more. Maybe those niggles will play out in the next book? It’s due out in September and I know I’ll buy it, if only to have another dose of the delicious creation that is Lucas Wolfe 🙂

NEWSFLASH: Next after Devoured, and before Consumed, comes Absorbed:

ABSORBED is a FREE weekly mini-serial written in Lucas’s POV. It takes place between the end of Devoured: Chapter 19 (the Atlanta chapter) and the very start of Consumed, and will be published on Emily Snow’s blog and website from August 16 through September 13. CONSUMED will be released in eBook format from Touchstone Books on September 17 and in paperback in November.

Overall rating – 4 silken sheets (should be 3.5, but I found it difficult to put down, so it can stay as a 4)

silkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmall

Sexy rating – 3 lips (could have been so much more)

lipsssssmalllipsssssmalllipsssssmall

Plot – great

Characters – Lucas is a dream (frustrating, irritating, possessive, overbearing alpha that he is 🙂 )

Warnings – none

Details

Genre: Contemporary romance (despite Lucas’s maturity, had a definite NA feel to it)

Published:  June 2012, then republished October 2012, and again Feb 2013; $7.59 (Amazon)

Publisher: Touchstone

Emily Snow’s blog: http://emilysnowbooks.blogspot.com

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | All Romance eBooks

