Tags

, , , , ,

sofia1

Overall rating – 5 silken sheets

silkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmall

Dear Readers,

My name is Jackson and I am The Cupcake Cowboy. I own and operate a cupcake truck in downtown San Antonio, Texas.

the cupcake cowboy - coverBorn and raised on a cattle ranch a few miles outside San Antonio, I can rope, tie, ride, drive, and wrangle with the best of ‘em. It’s what my father does and what his father did before him. It’s what I was supposed to do too, only… I didn’t want it.

One thing you should know up front, is that I’m more stubborn than a mule and when I get something in my head, I don’t let go until I get it done.

You see, when I realized my little sister had a way off the ranch by way of making people happy with our grandma’s sticky buns, well, I figured I could learn a thing or two about food myself. I liked eating and I knew my way around cooking meals so, how hard could baking be?

I soon found out.

I wasn’t cut out for sticky buns. In fact, I was a downright disaster at it. Sam suggested I go to culinary school, see what I might be good at. Turns out it was cakes and cupcakes.

Culinary school is also where I met Cass. She taught a few of my pastry classes and honestly, I wouldn’t have cared what she taught so long as I got to be around her. I was head over heels the second she smiled. Her enthusiasm was a sight to behold and it drew me in like a moth to a flame.

You’ll like her. Cass is a good woman, smart as a whip, knows what she’s talking about, and I didn’t want to listen. Remember? More stubborn than a mule… She deserves a second chance, in more ways than one.

That’s where this book begins. So, take a load off and grab a cool drink. You’re gonna need it.

Jackson

~

When I want to indulge in a straightforward, gorgeously sweet feel-good book, I turn to Lissa Matthews. It’s the book equivalent of snuggling up with a giant tub of your favourite ice cream. Dee-lish-ous!

I’ve read (and loved) most of Lissa’s backlist, and so when a new book comes out from her, it’s an auto-buy for me. It’s still a celebration though, and this particular book richly deserves to be celebrated.

Jackson is the BEST kind of cowboy. Gorgeous and hot are a given, stubborn and strong, proud – yet forgiving – and a fantastic baker and businessman to boot.

Running a successful food van was a gamble, but he’s made it work, against the advice of many. Cass was one of those people. Formerly his pastry tutor at culinary school, she’s longed for the chance to get to know him.

 17853699_sThe moment he walked into her eight-thirty Introduction to Pastry Arts class, the air had crackled, as though saying, “He’s here.” That one man who would turn her world upside down. That elusive ‘he’ all the romance novels and chick flicks and fairy tales made millions off of.

 She might like cakes and pies and all things fluffy, but she’d never been a believer in love at first sight.

 Until Jackson.

So when Cass goes to look for him, to apologize for being such a pessimist, she heads for the Cupcake Van.

Cass didn’t consider herself a proud or boastful person, but this humiliating and humbling experience was not one she wished to prolong or repeat. “Yes. Yes, I can. Which is why I’m trying to apologize.”

 Jackson waved off her comments. “Appreciated, but again, unnecessary. Now, as we are rather busy, unless you’re ordering something, I’m gonna have to ask you to step aside.”

 And just like that, the infuriating, hot– as-a-Texas-summer cowboy dismissed her.

~

18882296_s

Jackson was taken with Cass from the first lessons he took in culinary school, but much as she was interested in him, she wouldn’t fraternize.

“The rules are there for a reason. They have to be.”

 “Yeah, they are. I just… I don’t have much respect for them when they keep two consenting adults from being together. I wouldn’t have shouted it from the rooftops that I was getting dirty with my pastry instructor. I would have been discrete. I would have kept it to myself.”

 “Those policies applied to both of us. I had to decline your advances while you were my student.” She hadn’t done a very good job, but she’d tried.

 “Exactly. I don’t know what more you want, Cass.”

And ever since then, he’s stayed away from her. He still wants her, but thinks it will never happen. Having her come to his food van and then later, his home, is nothing short of a miracle.

 She’d come to him, not once, but twice in the same day and he’d been a dick the first time. Jackson knew women like her didn’t exist for every man. This one was his. “I’m a jackass and I should’ve seen that you were only trying to help. You’re a good woman and you’re good for me. I’m not letting you go this time around.”

Don’t make the mistake of thinking that’s all there is to this story. You’re only at 16%, and there is plenty more to enjoy 🙂

Like all Lissa’s books, the secondary characters are real and believeable, with temperaments and personalities that mark them clearly… in this case, Jackson’s sister (Sam) and his father. 21825659_sTensions are many, and Cass turns out to be as delightfully stubborn as Jackson. Sparks fly and angry words are said, but this is a romance, and the loving is plentiful – and scorchingly hot. You’re going to need that tub of ice cream to cool yourself down!

 He wished he could see Cass, but the look in her eyes earlier when he’d so casually dismissed her, haunted him. It wasn’t like him to be so cold, but when it came to her and their history, the way they clashed even while they were so hot for each other… She pushed every damn button he had.

So… you want an afternoon of hot reading, a chance to block out the Christmas shopping and the To-Do-List, and a shot of pure escapism? Grab a copy of The Cupcake Cowboy and jump in. You won’t regret it 🙂

~

Overall rating – 5 silken sheets

silkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmall

Sexy rating – 5 lips

lipsssssmalllipsssssmalllipsssssmalllipsssssmalllipsssssmall

Plot – great

Characters – great

Warnings – cupcake cravings (so many yummy-sounding flavours are in this book, they should be secondary characters themselves!!) :-)

DETAILS:

Genre: Contemporary erotic romance

Published: December 2013; $3.63 (Amazon)

Publisher: self-published

Author website: Lissa Matthews

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | All Romance eBooks | Goodreads

