Tags

, , , , , , ,

sofia1

Overall rating – 4 silken sheets

silkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmall

seducingkate-510 (1)It was lust at first sight for Kyle when he met his roommate Justin’s mother Kate. Kyle, a college transfer, was too far from home to visit on short school breaks, so Justin took him to Minneapolis where his mother was serving up a family meal for Thanksgiving.

One look left Kyle with a healthy obsession for Kate which grew with each visit. When he landed an internship in Minneapolis, he moved in with Kate for the summer, and got in touch with his voyeuristic side. It wasn’t until one late evening and a few too many glasses of wine that Kyle began to suspect his attraction wasn’t one-sided.

When he dared to push the issue, he found Kate more than willing to succumb to his seduction.

I have a weakness for cougar stories, and this one hits the mark perfectly. Kyle, a university student, falls for his best friend’s mother. If his friend ever found out, their friendship would suffer, so the prospect of his friend learning of an affair would be damaging indeed.

Making it just a little different from other cougar stories I’ve read, this one was entirely from Kyle’s POV. It reads a lot like a teenage boy’s fantasy, his obsession with Kate, his over-riding lust, and then the details of their affair, but it’s fun and light… and hot. Sorry, it’s Blisteringly-Chilli-Garnished-Hot-With-Extra-Chilli. That sort of hot. Yup. Once their affair turns from purely imaginary to physical, there is a LOT of sex. 🙂

I’m amazed at Emilia Mancini’s ability to write so many couplings and still make them seem fresh and sexy. There was no skimming over the details, as sometimes happens when sexy scenes take over from plot and characters.

23367495_sI digress. I particularly enjoyed the first third of the book, when Kyle plotted to bed Kate, and his strategies in doing so.

I glanced over my shoulder several times while mowing and thought I caught her watching me over the rim of her sunglasses. I did what any guy would do. I took my shirt off.

At first, much as he wanted her, Kate already had a boyfriend. True, he was a loser who’d cheated on her, and didn’t make her happy, but they were still in a relationship.

“Don’t you ever get sick of the way he walks around here like he owns you?”

She sighed as she looked out over the yard. “It is starting to wear thin.”

“Whenever you’re ready to kick his ass out, let me know. I’ll be happy to do it for you.”

Kate looked at me and smiled. “Thanks. I may take you up on that sooner than you think.”

Everything changed though, when Kate finally kicked him out.

21398824_sI watched her leave the room, bags and wine in hand, before taking a deep breath as the reality of the situation sit in. He was gone. John was finally gone. It was just me and Kate. “Let the fun begin.” I grinned.

Kate has reservations though, as you might expect, and at first Kyle can’t decide if she’s interested or not.

After my shower, I sat across from her at the table outside and ate the sandwich she’d made me. We were chatting about landscaping when I noticed her short skirt had slipped up just enough to show a hint of white peeking out from under her dress. I tried not to stare, but I’d wanted to see that view for so long, it was really hard to keep my focus from drifting down through the glass tabletop. I was wearing my sunglasses so I didn’t think she could tell, but I caught her grinning at me before she parted her legs just enough to move the skirt up a bit higher. It was then that I began to suspect Kate had turned the tables and had become an active participant in my game.

He tries one thing and then another, but nothing seems to work. Finally, he makes some headway, but then she backs off.

“It won’t happen again.” I held her gaze, and she finally nodded slightly. But then, because I couldn’t seem to control myself around her, I grinned and quietly added, “Unless you want it to.”

This is a quick, hot read, with enough emotion to get to feel the characters, without any major dramas. Cougar reads can go one of several ways, and with this one there is a degree of tension, but not so much that your stomach is in knots. Kyle is creative and experienced for his tender years, and you can see how much fun he’s having.

24743708_s“Admit it,” I insisted. “You like me watching you.”

“Yes. I like that you look at me.”

I lightly traced the low neckline of her dress. Her breasts lifted as she gasped. “And that I steal touches whenever I can.”

“Yes,” she whispered.

“Should I stop?”

“Probably.”

I lowered my hand and gently brushed over one of her nipples. “Do you want me to?” She took deep breath and after a long hesitation said, “No.”

There’s a lot of hanging around in the pool, and the sunshine, and for me that makes it a great holiday read  🙂

Overall rating – 4 silken sheets

silkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmall

Sexy rating – 5 lips

lipsssssmalllipsssssmalllipsssssmalllipsssssmalllipsssssmall

Plot – fun

Characters – delicious!

Warnings – none

~

Details:

Genre: Contemporary erotic romance

Published: January 2014; $3.99

Publisher: Musa Publishing

Buy it from: Amazon / Barnes & Noble

                                               

