Tags

,

sssLeighSo last fall on my personal blog I talked about those steamy novels of the 70s and 80s that became made-for-TV movies and miniseries. You want to talk about the golden age of sexy dramas with actresses that chew the scenery and spit it out – back when we only had three channels for viewing, such movies were events. They pre-empted regular programming and ads for the movies ran for weeks. Books by Judith Krantz, Danielle Steel, Jackie Collins – all the giants of literature. ūüôā

These days, we look to Lifetime and Oxygen and Oprah for that kind of fix, but it’s just not the same. For one, the once in a lifetime miniseries tended to attract more B-list talent and occasionally a top TV star. Lifetime movies are not actually based on bestselling novels, and when you do get a wild pop culture phenom like¬†Fifty Shades it goes to the big screen. Anyway, I remember these things because I’ve begun my midlife crisis and while I medicate with wine, I look back fondly.

Where was I? Yes, last fall. I started a TBR list which I called “The Sideboob Hour,” named after a gag on¬†Family Guy where Peter Griffin highlighted all the partial nudity of 70s-80s miniseries. You saw a lot of sideboob in those movies, and it’s in the books, too. The following list I devised from memory of those miniseries, and here is my progress:

  • Deceptions¬†by Judith Michael –¬†FINISHED 9/26/13,¬†read my thoughts.
  • A Tangled Web¬†by Judith Michael –¬†FINISHED 9/30/13,¬†read my thoughts.
  • Lace¬†by Shirley Conran –¬†FINISHED 11/25/13,¬†read my thoughts.
  • Lace II¬†by Shirley Conran – IN PROGRESS
  • The Immortals¬†by Michael Korda
  • Hollywood Wives¬†by Jackie Collins
  • Scruples¬†by Judith Krantz
  • The Thorn Birds¬†by Colleen McCullough
  • The Lonely Lady¬†by Harold Robbins
  • The Flame and the Flower¬†by Kathleen Woodiwiss
  • One early Danielle Steel I haven’t read (leaning toward¬†Family Album)

As you can see, I have a ways to go. With a long trip coming up, I intend to knock off a few.

Have you read any of the above books? Which Danielle Steel should I read? I’d love to hear from you!

