Tags

, , ,

sssJocelynEvery time I write about food in a manuscript, I have to eat it. Well, almost every time. Typically the males in my stories eat the stuff that I don’t eat but the females eat the stuff I crave.

In my latest WIP, the heroine made blueberry pancakes and after writing about them, I HAD to have some. I made a trip to the store at eleven in the afternoon and made blueberry pancakes for lunch. Yes, for lunch. I didn’t give a damn if it was afternoon, evening or three in the morning. I needed pancakes and I needed them NOW!

Another time, I wrote something as simple as the heroine eating mango and yep, I had to run to the store to get a mango. By the way, if you’ve never tried one, you should. YUM. I’m not saying it was better than the blueberry pancakes tho. 😀blueberry pancakes

In Fin’s Fantasy, Fin is the family cook. The very hot family cook. The Sempire Demons in my series, Sempire Seductions, only eat fruit and um…never mind. Read it and find out. *cough*

Anyway, Fin made a whole lotta fruit smoothies in that story and during the writing of it, I drank at least one fruit smoothie each day for two months. And hey, no problem. They were healthy, delicious and I lost a couple pounds.

Note to self: Make more fruit smoothies. *looks at butt* Lots, lots more fruit smoothies.

jocelyndex_finsfantasy_coverFin’s Fantasy, Sempire Seductions, Book 3 Blurb

Navine is suffering Incubus addiction–a death sentence for any Sempire. When the search for a cure turns up only one rumor, Navine is horrified to learn the mutant Fin might be her only chance to live. Fearing the taint of the mutant more than fearing death, she continues to push him away as she tries to deny how his touch inflames her desire.

Fin was captivated by Navine the first moment their gazes locked but when she realized what he was–a male Sempire, a mutant, an abomination to the species–she’d rejected him. Burning with the need to touch her, taste her, he’ll do almost anything to save her even though she belittles him at every turn.

With time running out, passion must overcome prejudice to save Navine’s life and to grant Fin’s fantasy.

Here’s where you can buy Fin’s Fantasy

Ellora’s Cave  * Amazon * Barnes &  Noble

Bonus! Here’s a blueberry pancake recipe.

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 1/4 teaspoons white sugar

1 egg

1 cup milk

1/2 tablespoon butter, melted

1/2 cup frozen blueberries, thawed

DIRECTIONS:

1.         In a large bowl, sift together flour, salt, baking powder and sugar. In a small bowl, beat together egg and milk. Stir milk and egg into flour mixture. Mix in the butter and fold in the blueberries. Set aside for 1 hour.

2.         Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot.

Have you ever read a story where food was mentioned and you HAD to have it?

