Tags

Jocelyn DexHappy Friday!

Recently, I did something that made me slightly queasy but also made me feel really good. I turned down a publishing contract for a story I was really excited about. Why? Well, various reasons but in general it was because it didn’t feel right/fair to me.

After turning it down, I wondered if that had been the first contract I’d ever been offered, if I would have felt pressured to sign regardless of how unfair I felt it was. If the excitement of being accepted and/or the fear of not knowing if anyone else would ever publish me would have pushed me to sign. Hmmm… Very possibly.

Well, here’s a little something for aspiring authors who might feel pressured to accept the first offer that comes along. Two days later, I submitted the same story to a different publisher. Seventeen days after that, I had a new contract offer. An offer that didn’t make me uncomfortable. In my opinion, a very fair offer.

Fingers crossed, I’ll be able to share a cover and official blurb soon.

Have a great weekend and remember, if one publisher likes your work, there’s a damn good possibility that another will too!

