Tags

, , ,

The perfect imperfection.

My post today comes from thoughts brought by Sorcha’s post on ideas she’d found in some stories on the consideration of nipples, their colors, shapes and sizes. I did enjoy that post and I did ask DH his thoughts on it. The conversation began with his quizzical look and proved interesting. I did double check the idea that guys spend time pondering on the variety of nipples and got the same kind of reply from someone else. ‘Duh, no. I’m just happy to have one to touch or lick.’

sssdaisy2_final

The idea people might worry about something like that also led me back to all the concerns I had about my physical appearance in my youth. Some people are very lucky, as they are comfortable with their bodies early. For others, me included, it takes a bit longer to feel at ease in their skin, and there are some people who never achieve a sense of being happy with themselves.

I think many men and women suffer all kinds of worries about their appearance. Am I too fat or too thin, too tall or too short? I’ve got the wrong kind of features or I don’t like my eye color. The list could go on and on. There is a massive industry to feed these fears and no shortage of offers to cure them for a fee. But truly, are any of these perceived imperfections a barrier to love?

I write about love and as I’ve been thinking through the notion of imperfections I realized some of the people in my stories have imperfections in various ways. I didn’t write them that way deliberately, it just happened. In my fairy story Valentine Wishes, the accident-prone fairy Poppy has a freckle by the side of her mouth and she hates it. Poppy thinks the freckle ruins her complexion, but her partner Cedar adores that little freckle, he loves to kiss it. That example is a simple exploration in the perfect imperfection.

Valentine's Wishes-high-res

A more complicated look at imperfections occurs in my story A Gentleman’s Folly, where Charles discovers Katherine to be as avaricious as himself. Not a pleasant personality trait, but one he fully understands and appreciates. In fact, it leads him to a fresh discovery; there isn’t another woman in the world who could be a more perfect partner, if she will accept him. To find out more about that pair click the link below.

http://bit.ly/1eXJOcx

I think one of the things that make people individuals is their imperfections, and to deal with flaws in a realistic way is a challenge all writers face. I wonder how many people who read this post agree with me that imperfections can be perfect and prove no barrier to love at all, as they help make the one you love the person they are.

Thanks for reading.

Xx

Daisy Banks

 

