Tags

, , , , , ,

sofia1

 

Fantastic start to a new rocker series – I loved it!

 5 silken sheets

silkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmall

 

Lick cover v2

Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this.

 Evelyn Thomas’s plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure as hell never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.

 One thing is for certain, being married to rock and roll’s favourite son is sure to be a wild ride.

 

~

 

Oh wow, what an awesome ride this was! What rock chick hasn’t fantasised about a whirlwind romance with a rock star?

Evelyn’s first view of the stranger in the room, is interesting.

16378576_s Slowly, he swam into focus. He was built and beautiful and strangely familiar. Impossible. I’d never met anyone like him.

 

She feels as though she’s dying. Luckily, he has some painkillers:

He grabbed a battered black leather jacket off the floor, the one I’d apparently been using as a pillow. Thank God I hadn’t puked on it. Clearly, this beautiful half naked man had seen me in all my glory, hurling multiple times. I could have drowned in the shame.

 One by one he emptied the contents of his pockets out onto the cold white tiles. A credit card, guitar picks, a phone and a string of condoms. The condoms gave me pause but I was soon distracted by what emerged next. A multitude of paper scraps tumbled out onto the floor. All had names and numbers scrawled across them. This guy was Mr Popularity. Hey, I could definitely see why. But what on earth was he doing here with me?

 

But then things quickly move from weird to totally insane. She has an obscenely huge ring on her finger.

 He looked vaguely embarrassed by the ice rink on my finger. “If you still wanna change it for something smaller, that’s okay with me. It is kinda big. I do get your point about that.”

 

A ring? On her wedding finger?

“You bought me this?” I asked.

 He nodded. “Last night at Cartier.”

 “Cartier?” My voice dropped to a whisper. “Huh.”

 For a long moment he just stared at me. “You don’t remember?”

 

I think this was the point I fell in love with him.

“This was a mistake,” he said, echoing my thoughts.

 “Oh.”

 “What?” His gaze jumped to my face. “You disagree?”

 “No,” I said quickly.

 “Didn’t think so. Pity it made sense last night, yeah?” He shoved a hand through his hair and made for the door. “Take care.”

 

She also had his name (David) tattooed – on her butt – while he now sported her name inked on his arm. It seemed pretty certain that a LOT had vanished from her memory.

Unfortunately, lying low while his lawyers sort out an annulment is impossible, as the media are on to her. She’s so harassed that David sends his security team to whisk her away to the mansion he’s currently staying in.

6156297_sShe arrives in the midst of a massive, glamorous party. Thankfully, one of his bandmates, Mal, is pleased to see her. I liked Mal. A lot!

 Mal turned to me and winked. “So did you really ask the mighty David Ferris for a divorce?”

 “She threw up on me when I told her we were married,” my husband reported.

 “What?” Mal dissolved into laughter, tears leaking from his eyes. “Are you serious? Fucking hell, that is fantastic. Oh, man, I wish I’d been there.”

 

It’s blindingly obvious that David has feelings for her, even though he’s trying to let her go.

He made a growly noise and suddenly his arms wrapped around me, pulling me in against him. He caught me off guard and I stumbled, my nose bumping into his chest. It hurt. But he smelled good . Clean, male, and good. Familiar. Some part of me remembered being this close to him and it was comforting. Something in my mind said ‘safe’. But I couldn’t remember how or why.

 A hand moved restlessly over my back.

 “I’m sorry,” he said. “So fucking sorry.”

 The kindness was too much. Stupid tears flowed. “I’d hardly even shown anyone my ass and now it’s all over the internet.”

 

And David acts like a jerk too. Well come on, he’s a rocker. He’s not supposed to behave like an angel. Evelyn has no problem calling him out on his behaviour.

 “Look, you’ve been really sweet since you stepped through that door. Well, apart from telling Mal about me puking on you. That was unnecessary. But in the preceding twenty-four hours you dumped me alone in a room, went off with a groupie, accused me of trying to get it on with your brother and sicced your posse of lawyers onto me.”

 

Underneath his jerk exterior though, was a sweet hearted guy.

 11765705_sI’d reached two conclusions. Both worried me. The first was that the night in Vegas was special to him. My prying or trivializing the experience upset him. The second was, I suspected, he hadn’t been all that drunk. It sounded like he knew exactly what he was doing. In which case, how the hell must he have felt the next morning? I’d rejected him and our marriage out of hand. He must have been heart-sore, humiliated.

 

I loved the progression of their relationship. For all the fairytale quality of the trappings, the bottom line was two people getting to know each other, and fall in love along the way. There were laughs, and there was stomach-clenching angst, and a few anxious moments where I didn’t think they would reach their HEA.

There were so many lovely lines – I went crazy highlighting sections (always the mark of a book I’ve enjoyed).

 Warm wasn’t something I’d ever registered as having a smell before, but that’s what David smelled of. Warmth, like he was liquid sunshine or something. Heat and comfort and home.

 

And David had a knee-trembling sense of humour.

His graze dipped back to my chest. “You’re still a little cold. I could warm you up. Where do you stand on me copping a feel in public?”

 “That’s a no.” I turned my face to take a sip of the water. Arctic air or no, I needed cooling down.

 “Yeah, that’s what I thought. Come on. With great breasts come great responsibility.”

 

The secondary characters were delicious, Mal especially. I adore rocker books, and this was a delight to read. I’ve already bought the second in series, Play, which – to my delight – is Mal’s book.

5 silken sheets

silkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmall

 

4 sexy lips

lipsssssmalllipsssssmalllipsssssmalllipsssssmall

Plot – great

Characters – delicious! You’ll want to gobble David up with a spoon  🙂

Warnings – get ready to press one-click to buy the second in series…

P.S. Check out Kylie Scott’s Pinterest page for the Stage Dive series: http://www.pinterest.com/kyliescottbooks/stage-dive/

 

Details:

Genre: Contemporary romance

Published: July 2013; currently $0.99 on Amazon

Publisher: Momentum

Buy links:  Amazon | AllRomance | Barnes & Noble

 

 

