Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

sofia1

5 silken sheets

silkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmall

 

 

Fun, sexy and the right amount of angst. A perfect read 🙂

 

She’s about to make a deal with the college bad boy…

 24504048 - coverHannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she’s carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush’s attention, she’ll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice…even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cocky captain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.

 …and it’s going to be oh so good.

 All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he’s worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he’s all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn’t take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn’t going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.

 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

 

I’m a huge of Elle Kennedy’s Out of Uniform series about hot ‘n’ sexy Navy SEALs, and when I saw she’d started a new series about hockey players, The Deal was a automatic one-click for me.

 

Sometimes when an established and adored author starts a new project, it doesn’t quite hit the mark but I can happily report that The Deal not only exceeded my already-high expectations, it smashed right through them.

 

8830392_sGarrett Graham is an excellent hero. Smart and confident, he’s known as the BMOC – the Big Man on Campus. Captain of the hockey team, he’s popular and well known. Girls want to sleep with him, guys want to hang around him and bask in his glow. Everybody likes Garrett – except Hannah. She’s perhaps the only girl on campus who resists his charm, and of course, that makes him want her all the more.

 

“Just out of curiosity,” she says, “after you wake up in the morning, do you admire yourself in the mirror for one hour or two?”

“Two,” I reply cheerfully.

“Do you high five yourself?”

“Of course not,” I smirk. “I kiss each of my biceps and then point to the ceiling and thank the big man upstairs for creating such a perfect male specimen.”

 

 

23701044_sIt takes him time and persistence to persuade her to tutor him and I loved the way he never gave up.

 

“Wellsy, wait up.”

She looks over her shoulder, frowning deeply. “For the love of God, I’m not tutoring you.”

“Sure you are.” I shrug. “I just need to figure out what you want in return.”

Hannah whirls around like a dark-haired tornado. “I want not to tutor you. That’s what I want.”

 

 

He hounded her at every turn, until he eventually wore down her resistance. And then he discovered that Hannah was so much more than he bargained. She might almost be a friend.

 

I loved their banter, and their text messages made me snigger aloud – several times.

8829130_sMy jaw drops in outrage when a text from Garrett comes in.

Him: Confession: I deleted all the 1 Direction from your iPod when u were in the can. You’re welcome.

Me: WHAT?? I’m going to kiss u!

Him: With tongue?

It takes me a second to realize what happened, at which point I’m completely mortified.

Me: Kill u! I meant KILL u. Damn autocorrect

Him: Surrrrrre. Let’s blame it on autocorrect

 

 

Despite all his cockiness, there’s a lot more to Garrett than you first think, and I loved the way his story unravelled. As with Hannah, there was enough tension and angst to make me turn the pages rapidly, without it being over the top. It was believable. They were relatable, and very likeable.

 

14899892_sI can still remember the days – all of a week ago – when Garrett Graham wasn’t a fixture in my life. When I didn’t have to listen to his cocky remarks or see his rogue grins or get drawn into a flirt battle I have no interest in.

 

 

 

 

The secondary characters were strong and supportive, and I’m excited to speculate which of Garrett’s team members is going to be featured in book 2. I’m hoping Logan… please let it be Logan…

 

I’m not going to say anything more, other than Buy It, and Read It. Now!

 

 

 

 

5 silken sheets

silkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmallsilkensheetssymbolsmall

5 sexy lips

lipsssssmalllipsssssmalllipsssssmalllipsssssmalllipsssssmall

 

Plot – great

Characters – fabulous!

Warnings – none

 

Details:

Genre: Contemporary erotic romance

Published: February 2015; $4.99

 

Buy links:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Author website: http://www.ellekennedy.com/

 

 

