sssLeighI don’t get a Spring Break, but little one does, so she will be spending quality time with the grandparents. I have carved out some free time as well for reading. Hopefully in the sun. I finished Redemption Bay by RaeAnne Thayne (AMZ /BN / KOBO) which I enjoyed. The more I read small-town contemporaries in the HQN style, I wonder why I don’t write these. I believe this will be my real-name project. I plan to put Geek Meets Girl (under my other name) to print soon and write more romance in that name. Why not try a sub-genre I like?

I am almost finished with The Rancher’s Dream by Kathleen O’Brien (AMZ / BN / KOBO). This may be the last of the Belle River Ranch series, I cannot say. As it’s about characters not directly connected to the sisters, it’s a fair guess. After this, I have several books on the need-to-read-now and must-finish-for-book-challenges lists. Always a challenge to pick just one.

Other recent reads of mine this month:

I finished The Virgin’s Daughter by Laura Andersen (pre-order: AMZ /BN / KOBO) and loved it. Andersen has restyled her books into The Tudor Legacy series, and if you like alternate histories this is great series. You should read her previous Boleyn books before this one, and I’ll warn you now: there’s another book to follow. I can’t wait for it.

I finished The Dowry Bride by Shoban Bantwal (ARe / AMZ / BN / KOBO) in the time since Friday’s post. The synopsis drew me in, because I haven’t read many romances set in India. I had enjoy The Bollywood Affair and this came up on the search algorithms. On the whole, I liked the story but I wish it had ended differently. It’s about a woman escaping what she once thought was a good marriage. Megha discovers her mother-in-law’s plot to arrange an “accident” for Megha, thereby freeing up her son for another, more profitable dowry marriage. She finds safety with another in-law, one who’s loved her for a while.

The story had the makings for a great book, but the execution was off for me. I don’t want to spoil the story, but I had wished for more interaction toward the end between Megha and her detractors, aside from the flashbacks.

I enjoyed Revival by Stephen King (ARe / AMZ /BN / KOBO), which I also finished as anticipated. This is a slow-churning story about a man coming into contact with a faithless former minister at various points in his life, and how the man’s obsession with electricity has messed with a lot of people. The story builds and gives you that stomach pain…you know something WTF horrible is going to happen and when it does you’re still shocked. Lot of people are saying King is back to the way he used to write. I think this reminded me a lot of The Green Mile – a touch of magic realism and psychological horror. I look forward to Finders Keepers.

What are you reading?

