I fulfil my promise to you with my post today. Yes, I have a new car,  and as I said I’ll tell you about it. My new car led to the most entertaining conversation I have had for some time regarding cars. When I rang my insurance company to swap the driver’s insurance I mentioned the word Diablo. The young man on the end of the phone took a deep husky breath, rather sexy really, and then I realized his mistake. He imagined I was going to be driving one of those incredible, exquisite, sheeny, silky, lust buckets: a Lamborghini Diablo.

Yes, I know about the carbon footprint stuff, about how bad driving is meant to be for us and the planet and the children, and that we should all be grateful to be walking beside an ox-cart. But, for those of us who grew up when the car was the thing all young people aspired to, and for those of us who have known other times; most of us have yet to be weaned off our cars. I’ve lived a fortnight without one and my goodness, it hurt.

Lamborghini Diablo

I am able to show you this image thanks to http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File%3AEarly_Lamborghini_Diablo_in_red.jpg
By Mr.choppers (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Anyway, now you’ve looked at one of the objects of my dreams, back to the call to the young man at the insurance company.

I wiped away a tear as holding my phone I smiled. If only I could have fulfilled his thought. A second of sheer wonder hit me that this young man thought I sounded like I could be the owner of such a car. Wow!
I won’t dwell on the image of me, suitably attired, behind the wheel of a Lamborghini Diablo more than I have; as if I did it could force me to need a lie down.
Sadly, I had to explain my new car wasn’t the one he’d imagined, though it has the same name. Mine has a disabled ramp and a winch, so I can get Mom on board in her wheelchair for trips out and about, and to the local shops.
Don’t get me wrong, my new car is lovely, it does just the job I need it to, is incredibly economical on mileage and is much newer than the car I had before. I am very grateful my DH got it for me. He knows how hard I’ve found lugging the wheelchair in and out of my old hatchback.
But, I’ll never forget the little ephemeral moment of delight, when a young man who couldn’t see me took that breath at the idea of me wanting to insure a Lamborghini Diablo. Lovely.

Thanks for reading
Daisy Banks.

