Tags

, ,

sssShilohI must admit that I didn’t make it through the novel Fifty Shades of Grey. The writing made me cringe. However, I rented the movie from Redbox. I wanted to know the full story or at least the first book. I know movies cut out a lot from a book because of the condensed time, but I was shocked. In the movie, the BDSM culture was not explained at all.  I hope it was explained better in the bestselling novel!

At the start of the movie, Anastasia Steele is not only new to the BDSM world in this story, but she is also a virgin. I was happy Christian Grey took care with her the first time they had sex when he found out this bit of information. However, he didn’t seem to care much after that. He wanted her to sign this contract and enter into his world, living by his rules, without even explaining to her what this world was. He told her to do her own research. Ugh! Not a good dom. If he didn’t want to explain the culture to her, he should have at least had another submissive explain things and answer any questions she had.

A lot of misconceptions exist concerning BDSM, and I’m afraid this movie will only add to the confusion. Anastasia was right when she said all Christian wanted was a sex slave. A dom needs to have some sort of emotional connection with their sub. It doesn’t have to be love, but there has to be something. I’m sorry, Christian said he was messed up, and he clearly had issues. He went beyond being an alpha male. He was cold and distant and came across as a selfish monster.

Maybe we can get a discussion going on Silken Sheets & Seduction today!

If you read all of Fifty Shades of Grey was the BDSM culture explained better? What were your opinions after watching the movie?

