Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

sofia1

 

 

We all have a favourite tune, or a dozen of them. You know when you hear a song and it takes to right back to when you heard it endlessly on holiday that year? Or when you danced to it at your wedding? Or heard it played at a funeral, or while the credits rolled up on a movie? Music has the power to recreate times and places in our heads.

 

One particular song that I quite liked, was playing on the radio after I’d had my cat euthanised. I was falling apart at the time. I can’t listen to it now without crying.

 

Others remind me of happier days. The Day We Caught The Train by Ocean Colour Scene reminds me of a lovely driving holiday in Scotland. Relax by Frankie Goes to Hollywood reminds me of a strenuous exercise class I used to attend, while Nickelback’s Rock Star takes me right back to Spin Class from a few years ago (and the rather yummy instructor. He was the only reason I attended).

 

I create a new playlist for every book I write, and I listen to it constantly during the writing process. The songs all mean something, maybe a mood, or a lyric, or the artist, but they’re all relevant to the story in some way. When I listen to the playlist, it takes me straight into that story-world, and helps to ground me in the characters and the emotions.

 

Thanks to free music sharing apps, I can now share my playlists with anyone that wants to listen. Check out my profile on Spotify and you can listen along to some of my choices: https://play.spotify.com/user/12165779057

His Temporary Fix - teaser 1

My next release comes out 26 October from Entangled Select. His Temporary Fix is an angsty story of love and loss, and I thought hard about which tracks to use for Zack, my grief stricken soldier. See if you like my choices 🙂

 

Playlist for His Temporary Fix: http://bit.ly/1PxDl8w

 

~

 

HIS_TEMPORARY_FIX_500x700 (1)Holly Jacobs loses her heart a little too easily. Never again. But when she meets the sexy soldier on the beach, Holly knows she’s in big trouble. Zack Winter is gorgeous and in pain, and when he kisses Holly, all of her resolve melts away…

Zack is on short-term leave to attend a funeral, and he’s walking a fine line. The loss is unbearable…and he’ll do whatever it takes to distract himself from it. Especially if it means a night of searingly-hot sex with Holly Jacobs. Only his brilliant idea isn’t exactly going according to plan.

One night isn’t nearly enough. But if it goes much longer it might end in broken hearts…

 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Pre-order from Amazon ($0.99): 

 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

 

Excerpt:

36803133_ml

He disappeared, bare feet slapping wooden floorboards, and I looked around the kitchen. Despite knowing the owner of this rental cottage, I’d never been inside. A long picture window opened onto the deck, with the beach beyond. I liked the clean openness of it, the space and light. It appealed to my ordered nature and didn’t leave me itching to tidy up, as Jasper’s cluttered house did. I examined the shells on the windowsill, picking them up in turn. They were a mismatch of all different types. Maybe each occupant left a shell behind.

The noise of rushing water stopped abruptly. He’d only been a couple of minutes and so he’d probably be back in no time at all. I wanted to look casual, relaxed, and not as though I was stressed out in the slightest. I leaned against the counter, hands at my sides, turned to stare out of the window again, and then took a seat at the scrubbed wooden table. Warm now, I wriggled out of my fleece jacket and was in the process of draping it over the chair back when he padded barefoot into the kitchen fully dressed in the same fatigues as yesterday and a faded Nirvana T-shirt. His face looked flushed. Was that a flash of relief in his eyes when he saw me? “I’m glad you stayed, Holly. Thanks.”

“It would have been rude to leave.”

He stepped closer, hands shoved in his pockets, and I caught a whiff of citrus. His shower gel? My pulse sped up, and I battled with the rampant lust threatening to take over my body. He was a gorgeous guy, that’s all. I’d met hot guys before, even dated a few. Yeah, and none of them had tangled your panties as rapidly as he did. Or as thoroughly.

Zack cleared his throat. Had he spoken? I’d been so intent on the stomach-tingling scent drifting from his skin that I’d missed his words. This was ridiculous. I was a grown woman, not a horny teenager with her first boyfriend. If I wanted him, wanted to risk my sanity and peace of mind by scratching this very delicious itch, I should just say so. He would only be here one more night.

And then back on deployment, whispered the dark part of my soul. He might never come back. You might be the last woman he ever has.

He looked amused, rocking back on his heels, the corners of his lips curving. “Bacon sandwich okay?”

“Is it dangerous?” I blurted the words out and immediately wanted to drag them back.

His brows tugged together, confused. “The bacon?”

Yep, way to make a fool of yourself, Holly. “I don’t know why I said that,” I mumbled, my gaze fixated on the tabletop. “I feel stupid.”

“Don’t.” There was an urgency in his voice, and I risked looking up at him. He wasn’t smirking or trying not to laugh. He looked serious, the smile retreating as though it had never been there. “You mean Afghanistan?”

I nodded.

He blew out a short breath, slid one hand through his hair, and sank into the chair next to me. Tension simmered in the air, visible in the set of his shoulders and the tightness of his jaw. “I could spin you a line. Tell you this might be my last night on earth, all that shit.” He placed both hands on the table, palms down, just inches from mine. “Or I could tell you it’s mostly boring, that we patrol endlessly and rarely encounter any trouble.” So close, the citrus scent intensified, and my pulse skittered. Would he taste of orange if I kissed his chest?

His voice was husky. “So tell me. Which story would you prefer?”

“How about the truth?”

 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Watch the trailer on YouTube: https://youtu.be/8zdmj4Xf_zg

 

 

 

 

