DianeSSSI think I’ve probably mentioned numerous times , I grew up on romances, the first one being read to me by my older sister, Margaret. The Princess Bride – still one of my favourite tales.

Then there were those naughty little Mills and Boon my mother kept on her bookshelf with enticing covers which hinted of passion. Where we lived, we had a mobile library. Every Tuesday we could get 6 more books out and no, I did not choose children’s books specifically, I chose adventure and romance and love and life.

Some of my favourite books are the ones that defy age groups. I was read the Hobbit when I was about seven by a fantastic English teacher. The Lord of the Rings was given as a gift when I was twelve.

But I must admit to enjoying those reads I wasn’t really supposed to have.  When the Lion Feeds, Wilbur Smith. At the age of fourteen, when I picked it up after my dad had finished reading it, he quietly went to my mum and asked if it was appropriate. Her reply – if it’s not, she’ll put it down. I’ve read every Wilbur Smith book since, but I still remember the thrill of that first novel, the great feel of it being just a little bit out of my genre.

In recent years, I’ve read prolifically and I’ve found I tend to stick to the same main genre – that of romance. Within this wide genre I have discovered the delights of :

Contemporary – Nora Roberts, Sandra Brown, Anne Stuart, Lori Foster

Humour – Jennifer Cruisie, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Rachel Gibson,

Historical – Julie Garwood, Lisa Kleypas, Julia Quinn, Teresa Medeiros

Fantasy – J R Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Kresley Cole, Gena Showalter

Thrillers – Karen Rose, Julie Garwood, Karin Slaughter

Suspense – Cherry Adair, Linda Howard

Is it any wonder then that I feel the need to romance the genres myself? My first series with Liquid Silver Books, Atlantic Divide Series is Contemporary, with a touch of humour and recently, Loving Lydia, the first book in the series was free for a short time and reached number 22 in the Amazon charts.

Loving Lydia

Amazon UK   http://amzn.to/19tQeya

Amazon.com   http://bitly.com/1duNzVU

Right now the other two books in the series are only $1.49 each or 99p

Bad Girl Bill

Amazon UK  http://amzn.to/1lcrTlB

Amazon.com  http://amzn.to/1jxe1AD

Finding Zoe

Amazon UK  http://amzn.to/1acjREG

Amazon.com  http://amzn.to/1gf927f

Flight of Her Life is an all out comedy.

I’m currently editing Barbara’s Redemption which is the second book in my Disarmed and Dangerous story, contemporary romance with a touch of grit, this follows on from Flynn’s Kiss a story of a scarred hero.

I wrote a short Sci-fi, Short Circuit Time, as a challenge with Eva Lefoy and Allyson Lindt, one of the quickest and most enjoyable romps through writing that I’ve done, simply because of the connection with these two fabulous authors.

I loved the historical I wrote for Nanowrimo, Her Captured Groom, a real challenge and currently patiently awaiting an R&R from me. It was well worth the effort and I enjoyed it so much, I have a second in that series mapped out – Hawk’s Lady.

My recent release was inspired by the wonderful Wild About Bones on Cover Reveals who loved my comedy Flight of Her Life and wanted to see me write another – paranormal one this time. Together with encouragement from Heather Hand, a great fan of fiction, they pushed me to write Banshee Seduction, Montgomery’s Sin Book 1.  Book 2 is currently a WIP.

Right now, I’m taking part in Nanowrimo again, like so many other authors, and this time I’m writing a thriller.

So, like my reading choices, I have found in my writing that I am blurring the lines a little in the genres – and loving every moment of it.

