Tags

, , ,

sofia1

 

 

If you know me, you’ll know I take chocolate seriously. To me, it can be the mid-afternoon pick-me-up, the decadent after-dinner dessert, or the yummy nibbles while immersed in a movie – and everything in between. It has to *be* chocolate though, no pale imitation.

 

3-Ingredient-Mousse-recipe-heroLet me set the scene for you.

I’ve had a full-on, crazy-busy week at work, but finally – yay – it’s Friday, and I’m calling to pick up takeaway for dinner. This particular eatery does some good desserts, and the last couple of times I’ve been, they’ve had little pots of chocolate mousse. Dark, velvety, and chocolate-rich. Paired with a glass of wine, and some silly comedy on TV, it would be the best way to round off the week.

 

Only, it wasn’t.

 

Something had changed. The recipe, definitely, and maybe the chef, but this was no longer chocolate mousse. It was pale brown, slightly gritty, ridiculously sweet – and with the barest hint of chocolate flavour. If I hadn’t already downed half a glass of wine, I’d have driven straight back to the restaurant and asked what the hell had happened to my favourite dessert?!?

9665164_s

To say I was disappointed, would be an understatement. Gutted, would be closer. Remember, I’d been looking forward to this dollop of heaven for most of the afternoon and evening.

By morning, I had a plan.

I’d make my own.

I’ve made legions of chocolatey desserts before now, but never mousse. Would there be hours of painstaking whisking? Eggs to separate? I’m not so good at whipping egg whites. But then I found a recipe that was startling in its simplicity. Three ingredients – all of which I had in my larder & fridge. It sounded too good to be true.

http://www.annabel-langbein.com/recipes/threeingredient-chocolate-mousse/641/

Making it was EASY. Twenty minutes, tops.

Eating it is DIVINE. It’s even better than the yummy mousse they *used* to sell at the takeout place. Maybe I should offer to stock their mousse from now on?

Okay, fixing the world might be a little ambitious, but hey. Just licking the mixing spoon put an enormous smile on my face. Imagine if you administered chocolate mousse as a medicine? The world would be instantly happier. Such is the power of chocolate 🙂

 

P.S. Talking of the power of chocolate, take a look at this birthday card by Edward Monkton. I adore his sense of humour 🙂

lady and the chocolate

 

P.P.S. What’s your favourite EASY chocolate recipe? What choccy goodness do you turn to, when you need a pick-me-up?

 

 

 

 

