DianeSSS

It’s been a strange kind of week for me. Fractured, really with lots of things to do and not my normal routine at all. Normally I write every morning and yet this week I’ve not really got down to it for one reason or another, which usually leaves me chomping at the bit.

No so this week, though. I feel quite relaxed about it.

I’m currently doing a really hard edit on Barbara’s Redemption, so much of my time is taken with that.

Then that thing happened. Yeah, you know. The one all authors do a little happy dance when it happens.

Yes. I signed another contract.

When I wrote my first book, Loving Lydia, the premise of it was that my gorgeous Lydia took her twins from England to live with her sister in America to escape her tragic past. Her sister Kate is married to the local sheriff Jack Swann. They also appear in Finding Zoe and Flynn’s Kiss.

Jack and Kate already had their story, which I never submitted, because it was not ready. I used it as a back story. But I had so many people ask “Hey, what’s Jack and Kate’s story”. So, I pulled it out, completely re-wrote it and turned it in to Hartwood and they offered me a contract. (Yay, another happy dance)

So, today, instead of writing or editing, I’m going shopping. Yep, shopping.

See you all later.

Loving Lydia

lovinglydia (5)

Hiding from the horrors of her past, the last thing quiet, shy Lydia thinks she needs is a persistent cowboy who not only wants to strip away her clothes but the layers of her secrets too. What Sam wants is more than just skin deep.

Little by little, as Lydia’s past starts to reveal itself, Sam sees a woman who has never been afraid, who was bold and adventurous, talented, and exciting. As Sam discovers the truths Lydia has buried in her heart, her nightmares of the past become stronger and her fear of the future threatens to jeopardize everything.

Excerpt

Her eyelids flickered in time with the sharp blue flashes of light illuminating the nursery. She hazily thought that lightning could be so damned irritating. Then again, her fog-laden brain seemed to be telling her lightning was never that blue. It wasn’t lightning then.

So what? she thought as she drifted off again.

“Mrs. Morgan. Mrs. Morgan?” Someone tapped the back of her hand. The voice was insistent. She wanted to be left alone. Why wouldn’t they leave her alone? It was better in the quiet and the dark. The tapping continued and warm hands touched her icy arm.

She tried to open her eyes. She couldn’t. She didn’t really want to. She knew what she would see.

Thick, dark blood. She could feel it slick between her legs, dripping from her hands.

Her blood. His blood.

“Mrs. Morgan, can you hear me?”

She pulled her hand away, had no energy to do anything but let it flop down on the floor beside her, palm up, fingers limp.

Her heartbeat slowed, sluggish now as it pumped her lifeblood onto the floor. Her eyelids were heavy, but she needed to see. To make sure. She knew he lay opposite her. Eyes wide and staring. Shock still frozen across his face. Scissors embedded deep in his chest. Blood pooled all around him.

She could hear her twin babies cry. The high pitched mewl of newborns. Both of them squalled at the top of their voices. Her chest constricted. She knew she could no longer help them.

Someone else would have to help them now.

“Lydia! Oh my God, Lydia!” Her sister’s shocked voice pushed through her consciousness. Kate would look after the twins. They were probably hungry by now. How would she feed them? She had no baby bottles or formula. Lydia had fed them herself.

Kate was a doctor; she would figure out a way. They would be safe with her. Lydia had made sure they would be safe.

Her body relaxed. The pain subsided. Black clouds thickened and consumed her, comforting her like a warm, soft blanket.

Sound faded.

 

Amazon

Amazon UK

