Tags

, ,

sofia1

 

Coaxing the hermit from his cave

 

My newest manuscript is only a few days old, but the hero is one of my favourite types. Damaged. Not so long ago he was a strong and confident man, but after a sequence of traumatic events he’s now broken. That’s where the story begins. I’m hoping my lively, chatty – bossy – heroine will be able to put the pieces back together, if he doesn’t kill her first.

 

As a writer, I need to know my characters. Really know them. Understand how they’re likely to respond to situations, what they’ll say, how they’ll react when I throw stuff in their way.

He’s not making it easy for me though. Daniel is a recluse. Lives alone. Sees nobody. Avoids everyone – and that includes me. I’m getting the tiniest peeks inside his head, and it feels as though I’m having to coax him back into the daylight too, alongside my heroine. She’s gutsy, and if he’ll let her in, she’ll be able to work miracles. Eventually.

It’s got me thinking about other damaged heroes, and what it was about them, that made them so endearing. In no particular order, here are my top 10 broken heroes:

broken heroes

  • Vishous ‘V’ from the Black Dagger Brotherhood by JR Ward
  • Zsadist ‘Z’ from the Black Dagger Brotherhood by JR Ward
  • Gideon Trevithick from Captive of Sin, by Anna Campbell
  • Harper, from Falling, by Barbara Elsborg
  • Jason, from New Life, by Bonnie Dee
  • Hank Lazarus from Falling From the Sky, by Sarina Bowen
  • Didier Pedra from Curio, by Cara McKenna
  • Acheron from the Dark Hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon
  • Zarek from the Dark Hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon
  • Asher Lee from The Vixen & the Vet, by Katy Regnery

Which ones have you loved? And why?

