Tags

, ,

Guest Sig

*Waves* Haley here. It has been a while since I’ve been on Silken Sheets. In fact, it has been awhile since I’ve blogged anywhere. I’m actually planning my wedding. I’ve put my writing on hold until I iron out more of the details. I’m sure being married will inspire even more story ideas than being single. I can finally get everything right about living with a man! lol.

We don’t always get second chances. However, when we do we shouldn’t waste them. I finally got the rights back to MIDNIGHT KISS (Moonlight Romance book 3). It took me a while to re-release it because in many ways I completely changed the story. I needed to develop my heroine a lot more. I also added another side character. Finally, I have a book I’m proud of.

Matt Seever’s wife died and now he’s given a second chance at love. That is, if he can get his nanny April to come around…

BLURB

Race prejudice in the old South threatens to keep them apart, but sometimes love is black and white.

Unjustly accused of stealing, nanny April Windmire is turned out on the streets without pay or a reference. With no place to go and no friends, she stows away on the Mississippi steamer, the Queen Bee. Her hopes to remain undetected until they dock in St. Louis are dashed when a handsome officer discovers her hiding. Instead of turning her in, he takes her to his private quarters to ensure her safety. There she fights her growing attraction to a man she cannot have.

Matt Seever’s wife died four years ago, leaving him alone with two small mulatto children. He works on the steamer to provide for them, but his job as an officer on the Queen Bee isn’t family friendly. He knows he needs a new wife, but no southern white woman will marry him. When April lands in his lap, his prayers are answered. Or are they? April’s not the trusting type and racial prejudice runs deep in post-Civil War Missouri. Just when Matt convinces April he loves her, his new family becomes a target and there’s no backing down from this fight.

Together, April and Matt must brave heinous race prejudice. Will it tear them apart or will they find an enduring love?

Midnight Kiss ebook Cover Large

Excerpt

The heat in Mr. Seever’s lips traveled through her body and settled between her legs. He deepened the kiss and she moaned. She’d been kissed before, but never like this.

His hands moved from around her arms to roam her back, running up and down. His lips caressed the sensitive skin on her neck. She tilted her head to give him better access. It felt so good.

“April,” he said in a husky voice. “I’ve wanted you since I first saw you on the steamboat.”

Her insides squeezed together and her pulse raced out of control. She didn’t know what to say so she was happy when his mouth locked with hers again. Words were not necessary. They showed each other what they were feeling.

“Do you want me, April?” Mr. Seever asked in a deep voice.

Her mound moistened and she squeezed her thighs together. Yes! But she couldn’t say that, she wasn’t ready to give herself to him. He probably knew the power he wielded over her body. While he did care about his children and she felt guilty for accusing him of something she knew he hadn’t done, she did not know how deeply he cared for her.

“No,” she said in as firm a voice she could muster.

Instantly he dropped his hands and gave her lots of space, a mixture of shock and sadness ingrained on his face.

“You don’t even know me, sir.”

“We all have secrets, ghosts in our past. I know enough. I see how good you are with the children, and my feelings toward you are not going to change.”

If he found out why I was fired he might change his mind. Would he think I was a bad influence on his children?

“You could tell me about yourself.”

“Is that an order?”

“An order?” His eyebrows furrowed. “No, I was just saying if you wanted to share about yourself, help me to get to know you better—”

“No, sir. That won’t change how I feel.”

“Oh.” A long pause. The silence ate away at her nerves. “I’m sorry, April. I…” He looked at a loss for words, and a deep red stained his cheeks. “I’m sorry,” he said again. “I didn’t mean to force myself on you.” He swallowed and glanced at the wall, clearly uncomfortable. “I would never…You have nothing to worry about. It will never happen again.”

A lump sprouted in April’s throat and she felt overcome with emotion. Despite his lust, she believed him. And she wished she could tell him the truth. It hurt to distance herself from him, from those strong arms encircling her.

“I’m not staying, remember?” she said, her voice choked. “As soon as Allison has had the baby and is strong enough to take care of Seth and Hannah I will be leaving.”

“Why do you have to go? Do you not like it here?”

I like it here too much. The consequences of giving in were too great.

BUY LINKS

Amazon: http://mybook.to/MidnightKiss 

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/midnight-heat-haley-whitehall/1118165163?ean=2940157683146

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/midnight-kiss/id1109684871?mt=11

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/midnight-kiss-15

ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-midnightkiss-2031389-162.html

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/633160

