Tags

, , , , ,

jocelyn dex, paranormal romanceHappy Friday!

I’m late with my post. Oops!  But I have a good reason.

I’ve been deep in writing, editing, revising Book 2 in my Fated Foxes series, trying to get it ready for submission sometime today.

It’s taking me way too long to write this one and I think I finally figured out why. Even though I love the story, I’m afraid others won’t. Why?

  1. The hero is a southern man, and the accent is written, not simply implied. I know this annoys some readers, but his voice is SO clear to me, I felt it would be lame to only say, “Oh yeah, this dude has a southern accent, so just imagine it.” And, half of my family is from the south with varying degrees of the accent. Some mild, some super southern, so I wasn’t faking it. I have the knowledge.
  2. The hero is older and the heroine is much younger. Some people like that, some hate it.
  3. The hero has a beer belly. What? Yes. A freaking beer belly. Men with beer bellies deserve love and hot sex too, right? I think so.

Anyway, I wrote the story I wanted to write the way I felt it should be written. I’m just hoping my publisher likes it and that readers will too.

Out of curiosity, are any of the above issues for you as a reader?

