Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

sofia1

Profound and a little mysterious. Just as I like ’em

Yeah, it’s barely October, but this one gets my vote for most stunning song this year – from a band I only started listening to recently. Highly Suspect. Have you heard of them? Maybe not, this rock trio from Massachusetts only released their first album (Mister Asylum) in July 2015.

Anyway, there isn’t a ‘proper’ video released yet for My Name is Human. What you do get, is a breathtaking and hypnotic piece of film that captures the essence of the song completely. Take a look, and see if you agree:


I adore the night skies, and when I moved Down Under to New Zealand and saw the Milky Way in all it’s majesty, it threatened to reduce me to tears. I was an emotional mess at the time (new life half-way around the world, new job, new home, no friends yet, husband & son weren’t due to arrive for weeks). I was truly alone for the first time in my adult life. Scary, yet empowering at the same time. Looking up at the billions of stars over my head, almost close enough to touch, I realised how insignificant we are. I found it strangely comforting  🙂

Someone who photographs the night sky far better than I ever could, is a local guy, Mark Gee. Here’s one of his exquisite time-lapse videos of the skies over Wellington. And yes, it really does look like that on a clear night  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

