I have lived in the South all of my life, and with that comes the inevitability of having a home in a hurricane’s path. I remember the names as if the rains fell yesterday – David in the 70s, Andrew in the early 90s, Isabel in the 00s. This past weekend we “welcomed” Matthew. Glad he’s gone.

With each of these storms, I’ve been fortunate not to suffer too much damage. This past weekend, though, the storm left the home we’re renting flooded in the basement. It’s in the process of being repaired, but right now the room looks like an indoor pool from American Horror Story: Hotel.

The one distraction I get from storms, too, is evacuation. I haven’t written in a few days, and as close as I am to finishing a story it’s frustrating. It will probably take a while to get back into the groove.

If you were affected by the storms, I hope you’re able to recover quickly. We were lucky not to have been flooded like many homes in NC, and the disaster in Haiti is heartbreaking. I’ll be making a donation to hurricane relief soon. If you can suggest a good organization, please comment below.

  • Kat Lively
