Tags

, ,

sssshilohI know I didn’t announce it but I recently got married. I knew married life was going to be nothing like the romance novels I read…but I was expecting to at least have a honeymoon period before everything went topsy-turvy. That didn’t happen. I’m starting to believe that the honeymoon period is just a lie.

I’ve been reading about the power of positive thinking and visualization. Writers are encouraged to visualize good reviews, visualize themselves finishing their novel, visualize landing an agent etc. Athletes use visualization all the time. Will it work if I visualize a smoother transition into married life? Sigh.

NaNoWriMo is just around the corner. It is hard to write 50,000 words without the inner editor kicking in. If you want to give it a try then visualize yourself “winning.” Also, try to fall in love with your words, your work if only for the month of November. I do believe there is a honeymoon period in writing. That period is when you have a shiny new idea and new characters to play with and writing is all fun and roses. Revel in that feeling before the period ends and you’re left with endless editing!

