I was going to write something light and cheerful in the face of all the doom and gloom in the world this week. And then I received an email which changed everything in a heartbeat. It changed the way I was thinking, the way I was feeling.

It was genuine and heartfelt. From a lovely lady who’d undergone hardship and yet undermined the impact.  When she told me the effect my humour had on her world., it brought tears to my eyes.

I’ve had compliments before, I’ve had lovely reviews, but quite honestly I’ve never read anything that moved me quite as much. Laughter, she said, laughter was what she found in my books and through that, strength.

I’m humbled by her email. And overjoyed. Because I now know I don’t write these books just for my own self-satisfaction. To get the characters out of my head and onto the page in front of me. I write in the hope that someone, somewhere will feel joy and laughter and be uplifted by something I wrote and I’m thrilled to know that someone would go to the effort to let me know.

 

If you’ like to laugh this weekend, you can still get Gun Shy, Book 1 of my Atlantic Divide Series for free.

 

http://amzn.to/2aVZhuJ

Gun_Shy-Diane_Saxon-500x800

