Tags

, ,

sssshilohI had one of those days where nothing seemed to go right. Quickly my enthusiasm and my plans for the day went up in smoke. I ended up opening a bottle of wine. I have a hard time letting go of control. I know I can’t control everything, especially other people’s actions, but knowing that and not stressing out about it are two different things.

Authors get to control their characters. We get to pick who the heroine falls in love with. We decided if the hero deserves a promotion or not. We can even decide if they are going to eat pancakes or blueberry muffins for breakfast. I do think authors enjoy having this control. Maybe that’s why I’m finding it so hard to relax in 2017. Things aren’t going my way and I want to change it. The problem is I can’t.

I’m sure lots of authors are screaming out there about how terrible the publishing business is these days. Publishers are closing, bookstores are closing, sales are down. Aside from promoting our books in order to increase sales we really have no control. Sometimes it seems arbitrary when Facebook decides to block a book ad or Amazon throws you in the dungeon for being too naughty.

The question is what do we do now? I’ve asked myself this at least a hundred times lately. I’m still trying to arrive at an answer. I’ll leave you with one final thought.

do-not-give-up

 

