Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Dear Silken Readers, sssLandra

Teasing is at it’s best foreplay. The majority of humans love a good tease. Look at our movie trailers, previews for next week’s show, and the back cover blurbs. We love to have our appetites summoned to prepare for the main course.

The art of developing the tease is a challenge because we have to appeal to several senses. For books, the appealing is through visual images and words. We’re sight sensory based in this, and I’ll admit it’s not easy.

To demystify the process I’ll cover on three simple pieces:

1 – The image. For most of my work, I seek out provocative images that inspire sexy, erotic, before-teaseBDSM times. I try to drive my teases to involve the types of kinks my stories cover. The example to the right is a woman all tied up. My story, What You Crave, featured a male dominant into rope bondage. By grabbing a photo of a woman, with her arms secured tightly in rope begins the tease.

Note: There are multiple sites with image services that cost minimal fees. I enjoy using 123rf. But, I will caution that searching for images is like Alice down a rabbit hole. You’ll find yourself there for hours.

2 – The words. Now that I’ve got my picture, I need words… a quote, from the story. Something to grab the readers attention. Commonly used, dialogue or a good piece of action. Remember, it can’t be super long. This is meant for fast consumption and the quote you use can be as much of a turn on as a turn-off.

I chose the following for this image:

“Close your eyes, Lauren.” Stretching the elastic band, he slid the blindfold in place. “Now, let yourself feel. Get lost in the way the ropes rub against you.”

Note: Finding the right words/quotes can be even more difficult than the photo piece. It helps to keep track of fun/sexy/angsty pieces of dialogue while you’re editing and pick out a few for future teaser use.

3- The Software. When you have the elements figured out, then you go to how to assemble what-you-crave-teaser-1them. I like to use Canva. It’s got a bit of a learning curve, but once you figure it out the software is amazing. It’s free, available online, and all your images are kept, backed up in their storage in case anything ever goes wrong with your computer.

Note: Canva is just one way. I know other authors who use Paint, Powerpoint, and Adobe. The world is your oyster. You find what works for you and make it happen.

In the end, you get a marvelous looking teaser. There’s more where that one came from thankfully. I’ll be the first to admit that I am not the best at this either. I’d like to think we get better as we go. Sexy To Go Authors and others, chime in: What’s your fav spot to get images? How do you select your teaser quotes? What’s your favorite software?

Before I leave I’ll share another teaser with you. This one was made for me by the marvelous, Eva Lafoy, and it’s for my story in the Sexy To Go Valentine’s Boxset – Did I mention it’s only $0.99 right now at ebook retailers?

vd-stg-promo

 

