Tags

, ,

Rachel KenleyIn case you haven’t heard, the New England Patriots won the Super Bowl last night. I am not a football fan – to this day I don’t understand all the rules (including the play that earned the Patriots 2 points and forced the game into overtime), but I live in Massachusetts and I’m happy for the hometown “boys”.

Thinking about the game this morning, however, I discovered that there a lot of lessons to be learned from what happened last night.super-bowl-logo

  • If there’s more time, there’s more you can do.

The Patriots scored 25 unanswered points in regulation time, 19 of those in the last quarter. There have been so many occasions when I’ve wished for more time, just a little longer whether for sleep or a project, but the truth is – if you keep going, if I keep going, more can and will get down.  We’ll all get closer to our goals.

  • Don’t listen to others when they say, “It’s over,” “You lost,” or “Give up”.

When I turned on the game at the half (I was hanging out at friend’s house) and saw the 21-3 score, I thought the Pats had blown it. A lot of people did.  Neilson ratings show that viewership dropped off. If you left and counted the Patriots out, you missed the greatest comeback in the history of the game. How many times have we all been told about our dreams and goals to give up, forget it, don’t bother.  The Pats showed us that the *only* think we can do when the dream is important is keep going.

  • Believe in yourself and the support of people around you

I saw Tom Brady fold into a near fetal position and cry after the game ended. He was encircled by reporters but he needed that moment for himself.  He never gave up – on himself or his teammates.  Coach Belechik has said a player can win a game. A team wins a championship.  On the road – or playing field – of your dreams, you must believe in yourself first and accept, when you need it, the support of others.

  • Surround yourself with the best people you can, people who believe in you.

Which is why you have to do what you can to find and keep with you people who support you, believe in you, can hold your dream for you when you’re feeling worn out, because that will happen.  Getting stressed and frustrated doesn’t mean the goal isn’t worth it.  In fact, it’s probably a good indication that it matters a great deal to you. Lean on those who believe in you, then… get back to work.

  • Give 100% through the finish line, not just to it.three-feet

Many people stop, as Napoleon Hill said, three feet from gold. They do SO much work and then just before the finish line, with it in or nearly in sight, they stop.  Pushing through it is the way to go.  No horse ever stops one step beyond, no runner or batter.  You run through, you push completely through.  It seems like a small difference, but when you’ve been working for a long time on a project, a goal, a dream, those last few feet can make ALL the difference.

It was a great game on many levels, one that people will remember and talk about for years to come. I know when I’m struggling and feeling like I’m not going to make it, I’ll think of the 2017 Patriots.

Oh – one more lesson. As my son said when I read him this post, “Never give up, never surrender”.  Yes, there is that too.

