Tags

, , ,

Happy Valentine’s Day!

sssshilohI am lucky and get to post on the best holiday for romance authors. This post is a little late because my hubby and I had a hard time getting out of bed this morning. *wink*

Do you know the history of this romantic holiday? If not, it probably won’t be what you think.

card_valentine_card_-_google_art_project

I love the art in the Victorian era and the valentines were beautiful. I remember making my own valentines for friends and family when I was a child. I’m not sure many people do that much any longer. It is so easy to just drive to the store and buy a box of valentines. In a sense, the holiday has lost some of its sentimentality and magic. I wanted to remind people of the magic of the holiday and to remind them of simpler times. I hope I succeeded in my novella.

 

Valentine’s Day didn’t start as a commercial holiday. February 14th became a day associated with love thanks to Geoffrey Chaucer. The author of Canterbury Tales wrote a poem in 1382 entitled “Parliament of Fowles,” about the day when birds choose their mates.  In the poem, an embodiment of Nature speaks to the birds:

 

Birds, take heed of what I say; and for your welfare and to further your needs I will hasten as fast as I can speak.  You well know how on Saint Valentine’s Day, by my statute and through my ordinance, you come to choose your mates, as I prick you with sweet pain, and then fly on your way.

 

Chaucer’s poem references a pre-existing belief, at least in medieval England, that February 14 is the day when birds choose their mates. So the mating day for birds transformed into a celebration of romantic love.

 

stg-valentines-day-3d-coverThat was fascinating, wasn’t it? Do the thought of birds mating get you in the mood? LOL.

Well if not, why don’t you try reading Sexy To Go Valentine’s Day Edition. These 10 romance short stories will be sure to do the trick. For Valentine’s Day the box set is on sale for 99 cents!

* * * * * * *

Get Sexy to Go Valentine’s Day edition for $0.99 here:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01HZYWYEI 
B&N:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/sexy-to-go-valentines-day-2016-eva-lefoy/1124067418
iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/mt/book/sexy-to-go-valentines-day-2016/id1131689181
Kobo:  https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/sexy-to-go-valentine-s-day-2016 

 

