Tags

, , , , , , ,

 

Do you believe in astrology? Really? How can the position of the stars at the time of your birth affect your personality? It doesn’t make any sense at all. But, and this is a huge BUT, it’s uncannily accurate in so many respects.

I fit the profile of a Gemini as though it were written for me:

Expressive and quick-witted, Gemini represents two different personalities in one and you will never be sure which one you will face. They are sociable, communicative and ready for fun, with a tendency to suddenly get serious, thoughtful and restless.

 

Anyone who knows me, would nod their head at this point.

When it comes to horoscopes, I like to check mine. Sometimes in the morning, but more usually in the evening – to see how accurate it actually was. That’s quite a test. And today’s made me snort with laughter.

 

Here’s what actually happened today. I attended the monthly writer’s group meeting at a house in one of the Wellington suburbs, an area I was unfamiliar with. I used the mapping function on my phone for Siri to navigate there (surprisingly easily), and I had every confidence it would return me home as easily.

Nope.

It told me to turn right, when I left the house (even though I was sure I should turn left.) And another right. And another. By this time I’m driving past buildings that definitely weren’t there a few hours ago, speed bumps that I didn’t recall, and a tricky junction that I would have remembered. I was at the point where I needed to stop the car, and figure out the route manually – when I recognized a street name. THE STREET I STARTED FROM. It had taken me round in a huge circle, and right back to the beginning. Pfffffft. I may have said a rude word at this point. And before you ask, I had remembered to reset my destination.

For the next ten minutes until I reached the motorway, I didn’t trust it. Whenever it told me to make a turn, I checked it out first. Did it look logical? And after a few minutes I saw the main road out of the suburb. Yay! I headed down the hill, one minor junction to go, and then I’d be on a familiar road.

TURN LEFT, said Siri. TURN LEFT ONTO THE RIGI.

Huh? I paused, and stared at the road on my left. “The Ridge” led up a steep, narrow road – away from the highway. I ignored her, and continued straight on.

TURN LEFT, she repeated, sounding a little cross.

I ignored her, dodged around the junction and joined the highway with a sigh of relief, before turning off the SatNav. From that point I didn’t need Siri and her inane directions.

When I arrived home, curiosity got the better of me, and I checked out the route Siri wanted me to take. “The Ridge” could technically be classed as a diversion, in that it would enable me to join the (almost empty) highway further up, but by potentially going miles out of my way. I wondered if Siri was still cross from our recent arguments? Who knows. Check out HERE for more of my musings about Siri.

Anyway, going full circle seemed to be the theme of my journey today, so keep that in mind while you read the Gemini horoscope for today:

Satellite navigation systems have an option in their ‘Settings’ menu called ‘Shortest Routes’. To the uninitiated, this may seem like an obvious mode to activate. But, soon they’ll be skidding cross-country, down tiny tracks, across streams and through gated woodlands. The best way from A to B is rarely direct. It’s not the shortest route you need to take in July, it’s the most efficient one. And, with Venus in your sign, linking to Saturn, what you may now resent as a detour can become an essential part of a positive process.

** horoscope courtesy of www.cainer.com

What do you think? Is astrology a load of bunkum, or has it been accurate for you?

